Asian Ginger Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
I changed this dressing to give it more of an authentic Asian style flavor by substituting sesame oil for the olive oil and it ended up tasting GREAT!! I also added some pepper for a bit of a kick along with chopped green onions...what a delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
625 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
The only reason I didn't give this recipe five stars is I made the recommended changes that other reviewers posted. I cut the soy sauce to 1/4 cup. I used 1/2 cup olive oil and 1/4 cup sesame oil, and since my carafe was too small I didn't add the water. I did however have to stop myself from eating the dressing with a spoon. This stuff is great. Only additional change I would possibly make is to add more vinegar or less honey, I found it a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
335 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
My wife loves the ginger dressing you get at japaneese restaurants! When I made this she flipped! It was great. I did however take the suggestion of half the called for soy sacuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This is a fantastic recipe and will make it again! I did make a few changes that everyone has loved: I omit the water, and use 1-2Tbs. sugar instead of honey. Instead of olive oil, I used half vegetable oil and half sesame oil. I also added 2 Tbs. fresh lime juice, and chopped green onions, then blended with food processor/blender for the right texture. I have made this dressing a few times and with the little adjustments are always a hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I love the ginger dressing at my favorite Japanese Steakhouse, and this is close. I cut the amount of soy in half, and substituted half of the olive oil with sesame oil. It was very good in salad with grilled chicken and mandarin oranges. I have even marinated my chicken in the dressing, and it makes great marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Samnorwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Pampa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
This is exactly what I was looking for, and it tasted fantastic on the Almond Mandarin Salad also on this web site. I did substitute half the olive oil for sesame oil & left out the water, which I think made a really big (and positive) difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I cut down on the soy sauce and added some sesame oil in place of half of the olive oil. I also toasted a few spoons of sesame seeds and added them as well. I used this as the dressing in both a garden salad and a chinese chicken pasta salad. I let the pasta salad marinate in the mixture overnight and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
This was very good, it was exactly what I was looking for. I tossed it with red leaf lettuce, shredded carrots, chopped green onions, grape tomatoes, and sesame seeds; it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjhutch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Good recipe! I followed the other review suggestions and only used 1/2 cup of soy. I realized after making the dressing that I had forgotten the water, but it didn't matter! I liked having a creamy, tangy dressing with bite! My two friends that I shared it with said they could drink it straight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Price, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Our favorite dressing! We use reduced sodium soy sauce and agave instead of honey sometimes and it's still delicious! Another great tip to avoid wasting ginger - peel it, stick it in a freezer bag and freeze it! It's actually easier to grate frozen anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philly2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

All about Ginger

See how ginger is used to flavor so many foods and drinks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States