Asian Ginger Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
I changed this dressing to give it more of an authentic Asian style flavor by substituting sesame oil for the olive oil and it ended up tasting GREAT!! I also added some pepper for a bit of a kick along with chopped green onions...what a delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
642 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
I thought this dressing was ok, but it called for way too much soy sauce, therefore making it really salty. I also tried using half olive oil and half sesame seed oil to make it more authentic. That part of the dressing was good. If I were to make this again, I would cut the amount of soy sauce in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
Too much soy. Put in half or less, add a bit more rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Good recipe! I followed the other review suggestions and only used 1/2 cup of soy. I realized after making the dressing that I had forgotten the water, but it didn't matter! I liked having a creamy, tangy dressing with bite! My two friends that I shared it with said they could drink it straight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Price, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I cut down on the soy sauce and added some sesame oil in place of half of the olive oil. I also toasted a few spoons of sesame seeds and added them as well. I used this as the dressing in both a garden salad and a chinese chicken pasta salad. I let the pasta salad marinate in the mixture overnight and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
My wife loves the ginger dressing you get at japaneese restaurants! When I made this she flipped! It was great. I did however take the suggestion of half the called for soy sacuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
The amount of soy sauce called for in this recipe is way too much!! Either reduce it dramatically or triple the honey. I used ground ginger and red wine vinegar. Don't think I'll make this again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I love the ginger dressing at my favorite Japanese Steakhouse, and this is close. I cut the amount of soy in half, and substituted half of the olive oil with sesame oil. It was very good in salad with grilled chicken and mandarin oranges. I have even marinated my chicken in the dressing, and it makes great marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Samnorwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Pampa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
If you like ginger, this dressing is excellent! My family uses it on lots of other things also-a favorite over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
The only reason I didn't give this recipe five stars is I made the recommended changes that other reviewers posted. I cut the soy sauce to 1/4 cup. I used 1/2 cup olive oil and 1/4 cup sesame oil, and since my carafe was too small I didn't add the water. I did however have to stop myself from eating the dressing with a spoon. This stuff is great. Only additional change I would possibly make is to add more vinegar or less honey, I found it a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States