Asian Ginger Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Just made this dressing and used sesame oil instead. Everyone loved it! Excellent and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I am stingy with 5 star ratings, but this dressing deserves all 5 stars. I wanted to drink this stuff! I am pregnant and have been having ginger dressing cravings but going to the local Japanese restaurant means I have to tempt myself with sushi I'm not really supposed to eat. Now I can easily make my own at home. I followed the recipe exactly and it was very similar to the restaurant dressing I love. I'll be making this often from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Only because the numerous adjustments I made did I rate it 4. It's REALLY good. I used 2 Tbsp lemon juice, a bit less honey (approx 2 Tbsp), 1/3 cup soy sauce, an extra shake or two of vinegar, and added some black pepper. Not sure I can see a full cup of soy sauce in this recipe....I think next time for me, even less honey. I like it a little less sweet. The beauty is that you can tweak it as desired :) As close as I get to perfect to get my hubby to eat salad! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is a great dressing. I only had white wine vinegar, but that worked just fine. I love sesame flavor, so I subbed in 1/4 cup sesame oil in place of 1/4 cup of olive oil (out of the total 3/4 cup). I suggest adding the 1/4 cup water as hot as possible so it can thin the honey out and allow the flavors to develop a bit from the heat. Cheers, and thanks for the recipe!!! H
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I cut the olive oil with sesame oil (1/4 sesame and 1/2 olive oil) and only used 1/4 cup soy and 2 table spoons honey. I also added 1 tablespoon chinese mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: La Jolla, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Excellent. Initially I was skeptical because it was very thin and I expected it to be thicker, but it was delicious. I used low sodium soy sauce and still cut it in half. I added extra ginger and a little bit of sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Lehnig-Bouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This dressing is flavorful with a lovely hint of ginger sweetened with honey! I scaled this down to only two servings, cutting back on the amount of olive oil plus adding a little sesame oil. I grated fresh ginger (thumb size), added 2 garlic cloves, minced, little rice vinegar, to taste, and about 1 T of honey. I added fresh ground black pepper and one stalk of green onion, minced, to the dressing. I used low-sodium soy sauce (Aloha brand), to taste. I omitted the water. With the adjustments I made, I give this dressing a 5 stars. However, because I added the sesame oil and green onions I'd have to give this a 4 stars. There is room to adjust the amount of honey and vinegar depending on how much sweetness or tartness you prefer. If I were to make this dressing again, I would definitely cut back on the amount of olive oil. I do think this dressing is tasty. And with the addition of the sesame oil and green onions it gives this the "Asian" flair that I was looking for in a dressing! I drizzled this over a bed of fresh organic mixed greens and ate this with, "Sesame Seared Tuna," and "Sweet Pepper Rice," also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Pretty awesome and simple. I didn't have rice vinegar so I substituted lemon juice (amount specified for rice vinegar) and a drizzle of cranberry juice; it was great. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Loved this dressing! The only thing I did differently is to use my immersion blender for mixing instead of shaking. This made the dressing creamier in consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This dressing is fabulous! It also makes a great marinade for pork tenderloins and boneless chicken breasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

All about Ginger

See how ginger is used to flavor so many foods and drinks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States