Asian Ginger Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This dressing is so delicious!! I love ginger dressing but can never find one in the store that tastes as good as what you might get in a restaurant. I have made it a couple times, and although it tastes great as written, the changes below are the result of some experimentation to get what I think is the best flavor. Like other reviewers, I substituted sesame oil for olive oil to give it a more authentic flavor. I also added ~1 tablespoon of brown sugar. I think it is safe to say that you can eliminate the water altogether; the recipe does not really need it. If you really like ginger, you can add 1-3 more tablespoons based on taste preference, but be careful because a little ginger goes a long way. Lastly, the one thing I would say (which is certainly optional, less authentic, and based on taste preference) is that for those of you who prefer creamy dressing, adding a very small amount of mayo or miracle whip can really customize this dressing to your palate. It makes it more creamy/less purely oily, which a lot of people like. Add sparingly and in iterations, as you don't want the mayo flavor to be overwhelming. The finished product is great over thinly sliced carrots, broccoli, red & white cabbage (+ any other crunchy vegetables). Toss and finish with some sesame seeds and you have a unique take on cole slaw that will be well-received at any gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Delicious dressing. One of the best asian salad dressings I have ever made. My husband loved it, too. It paired nicely with a seared tuna steak I made for dinner. My only change (and I see others did the same): sesame oil instead of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
amazing...try adding 2 T sesame seeds, used 2 t. ground ginger for the fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I was looking for a recipe to substitute for a store-bought dressing that my husband really likes. Since he's on a diet, I wanted to get the calories as low as possible... so I substituted Splenda for the honey, added 1/8 cup balsamic and extra ginger. I also did half and half olive oil and sesame oil, used Gourmet Garden ginger blend instead of fresh, sushi vinegar instead of rice wine vinegar and added 2 teaspoons of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henniker, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Super oily. Not very good. Had to add lots of brown sugar and honey just to be able to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I used the changes as some listed but I used 1/8 cup of rice vinegar + 1/8 cup of fig vinegar , 1/4 cup soy and only 1 tb. honey, 1/8 cup olive oil + 1/8 cup sesame oil , added 2 tb. fresh sallots and only 3 tb. water. I like the fact that it was lighter in oil.and the fig vinegar gives it a bit of sweetness so less honey is needed, used an imulsion blender in the jar and WOW!! what a dressing!! friends just love it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Really good recipe. It's a bit salty for me so I used a low sodium soy sauce the next time I made it and added a tablespoon of tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This is a great recipe! I am going to try sesame oil and add a few toasted sesame seeds like some other reviews have suggested. I like using the honey as in the recipe instead of sugar as some other people have suggested because I think it is a healthier and still tastes great. Will definately be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Dressing was easy to make. I think the next time I would cut down on the soy sauce and olive oil as others had suggested. Other than that I think it was a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This recipe is just fabulous. I promise, you won't be disappointed. It feels like a lot when you're making it, but wow, you're going to eat a lot of salad...it's just that good. I used chinese cabbage, yellow peppers, orange peppers, cucumbers, cranberries, black sesame seeds and steam fried chinese noodles. It almost hurts it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States