Asian Ginger Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
The perfect compliment to an asian-style salad. I made it by using half the amount of soy sauce as some reviewers suggested and no water. I thought it was bland. I then added in the remaining soy and water, like the recipe suggested, and it was perfect. I used gluten-free Tamari. Hubby and kids loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Please stop rating recipes based upon the modifications made. This was TERRIBLE when made as the recipe dictates. Usually, I read reviews before proceeding but I was in a hurry. As the reviews say, it has way too much soy sauce, doesn't need water (makes it runny), and needs more vinegar. I ended up pouring it on chicken as a marinade because it was unusable as a salad dressing. It made a great marinade though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This dressing is amazing!! Everyone raves about it when they have salad at our house. I add sesame oil to it for a little more Asian flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was great! I didn't have any fresh garlic or ginger, so I substituted powered for both. It worked great for our night of salad and stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Just plain SUPER! Just like in an Asian restaurant...excellent also on sliced avacado sprinkled with red pepper flakes. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elise913
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This dressing is so delicious!! I love ginger dressing but can never find one in the store that tastes as good as what you might get in a restaurant. I have made it a couple times, and although it tastes great as written, the changes below are the result of some experimentation to get what I think is the best flavor. Like other reviewers, I substituted sesame oil for olive oil to give it a more authentic flavor. I also added ~1 tablespoon of brown sugar. I think it is safe to say that you can eliminate the water altogether; the recipe does not really need it. If you really like ginger, you can add 1-3 more tablespoons based on taste preference, but be careful because a little ginger goes a long way. Lastly, the one thing I would say (which is certainly optional, less authentic, and based on taste preference) is that for those of you who prefer creamy dressing, adding a very small amount of mayo or miracle whip can really customize this dressing to your palate. It makes it more creamy/less purely oily, which a lot of people like. Add sparingly and in iterations, as you don't want the mayo flavor to be overwhelming. The finished product is great over thinly sliced carrots, broccoli, red & white cabbage (+ any other crunchy vegetables). Toss and finish with some sesame seeds and you have a unique take on cole slaw that will be well-received at any gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Delicious dressing. One of the best asian salad dressings I have ever made. My husband loved it, too. It paired nicely with a seared tuna steak I made for dinner. My only change (and I see others did the same): sesame oil instead of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
amazing...try adding 2 T sesame seeds, used 2 t. ground ginger for the fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I was looking for a recipe to substitute for a store-bought dressing that my husband really likes. Since he's on a diet, I wanted to get the calories as low as possible... so I substituted Splenda for the honey, added 1/8 cup balsamic and extra ginger. I also did half and half olive oil and sesame oil, used Gourmet Garden ginger blend instead of fresh, sushi vinegar instead of rice wine vinegar and added 2 teaspoons of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henniker, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Super oily. Not very good. Had to add lots of brown sugar and honey just to be able to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

All about Ginger

See how ginger is used to flavor so many foods and drinks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States