Asian Ginger Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I liked this dressing. Pretty close to what our favorite Japanese sushi joint offers, though not the same. I used a fairly thick rice wine vinegar from a local Oriental Market, not sure if that's why, but I thought it was a little too overpowering. Next time I'll cut back and maybe add a touch more water, the flavor of the ginger really came through though which was great. I served the salad the way our favorite restaurant does, just iceberg lettuce with crispy wonton strips (available at the grocery store) and served with chopsticks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This recipe is amazing! I also added sesame oil instead of Olive Oil based on other reviews and cut the soy sauce in half. The soy sauce was still a bit overpowering for my family, so next time I think I with cut it in 1/4ths. I didn't have rice vinegar so I used white and although it still tasted great, next time I will use the rice vinegar! 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Pretty good. Just one serious FYI: if you make this as is, unless you only use a small amount, this does not make 20 servings. If you use only 2 tbs that's 16 servings. If you use more, it will be even less. That aside, I do like this recipe. Because I felt like it was missing something, I added about 2 tbs chopped onion and ran the whole thing through the blender. I used 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 sesame oil (which works out to about 1/3 cup each) due to my budget limits and decreased the soy to 1/4 cup. Oh and I also decreased the water to 2 tbs and added 2 tbs ketchup. That seemed to do the trick. Loved it that way and will keep that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaSouth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I used sweet soy sauce instead of regular
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
The perfect compliment to an asian-style salad. I made it by using half the amount of soy sauce as some reviewers suggested and no water. I thought it was bland. I then added in the remaining soy and water, like the recipe suggested, and it was perfect. I used gluten-free Tamari. Hubby and kids loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Please stop rating recipes based upon the modifications made. This was TERRIBLE when made as the recipe dictates. Usually, I read reviews before proceeding but I was in a hurry. As the reviews say, it has way too much soy sauce, doesn't need water (makes it runny), and needs more vinegar. I ended up pouring it on chicken as a marinade because it was unusable as a salad dressing. It made a great marinade though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This dressing is amazing!! Everyone raves about it when they have salad at our house. I add sesame oil to it for a little more Asian flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was great! I didn't have any fresh garlic or ginger, so I substituted powered for both. It worked great for our night of salad and stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Just plain SUPER! Just like in an Asian restaurant...excellent also on sliced avacado sprinkled with red pepper flakes. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elise913
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This dressing is so delicious!! I love ginger dressing but can never find one in the store that tastes as good as what you might get in a restaurant. I have made it a couple times, and although it tastes great as written, the changes below are the result of some experimentation to get what I think is the best flavor. Like other reviewers, I substituted sesame oil for olive oil to give it a more authentic flavor. I also added ~1 tablespoon of brown sugar. I think it is safe to say that you can eliminate the water altogether; the recipe does not really need it. If you really like ginger, you can add 1-3 more tablespoons based on taste preference, but be careful because a little ginger goes a long way. Lastly, the one thing I would say (which is certainly optional, less authentic, and based on taste preference) is that for those of you who prefer creamy dressing, adding a very small amount of mayo or miracle whip can really customize this dressing to your palate. It makes it more creamy/less purely oily, which a lot of people like. Add sparingly and in iterations, as you don't want the mayo flavor to be overwhelming. The finished product is great over thinly sliced carrots, broccoli, red & white cabbage (+ any other crunchy vegetables). Toss and finish with some sesame seeds and you have a unique take on cole slaw that will be well-received at any gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States