Asian Cucumber Thai Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ceewhycee
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was a delicious base for me. I omitted the mint and nuts as I didn't have any on hand and made following adjustments to suit my tastes: adjusted for one serving, used more vinegar (rice) than sugar, used sriracha instead of pepper flakes, and added a little fish sauce. Served with ginger salmon so I tossed in a bag of salad mix for a refreshing salad. Will make again, thank you! May use the dressing for a cold noodle salad dressing as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Use rice vinegar rather than the white stuff - flavor is more complex as well as more subtle. Instead of coriander, use cumin for a deeper tone and a bit of heat. Walla Walla onions make for a more gentle flavor than red onions. 1/3 cup is too much sugar. Sweet mirin is a better choice for a delicate asian flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This salad is so tasty, easy and refreshing! It will become one of my summer staples! I didn't make it with the tomatoes but used everything else and it was delicious! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DenisedeJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sorrento, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This was a big hit, even with picky eaters. I didn't have mint, but didn't miss it. Actually chopped the cilantro and added it to the dressing. Put cubes, cut tomatoes and onion in colander for an hour and redrained it. Awesome and will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Love the flavors of this salad. Just through out my previous recipe for this one. Did not change a thing and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I only used 2/3 of the amount of sugar this recipe called for and it was still too sweet. Concept is good ... just use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
My husband made this for dinner tonight. He used rice wine vinegar and it was fabulous! He made it with scallops with tropical salsa and I thought I died and went to heaven. It may have been the best meal of my life. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Great way to use up cucumbers. I can't imagine reducing the crushed red pepper...wouldn't taste like anything. I only needed to add more salt. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Had high hopes but this was just average. Made exactly as stated but used splenda to cut calories. Very healthy salad and it did have good flavor- really didn't need the peanuts. The Thai Cucumber salad from this site is similar and much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Delicious!! Followed everything exactly as written besides the sugar. I only added about half the amount and thought that it was perfect, but I suppose that is a matter of taste. Great recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States