Asian Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Some of my all-time favorite ingredients in one bowl! I've made it twice this week, and it's fail proof. Used green Thai peppers (very hot!) but I think the red ones would be more aesthetically pleasing. Second time I made it i used 3 cukes because the first time there was a lot of leftover dressing. Perfect for a late dinner salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ofedaisy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This was so yummy! I didn't salt the cucumbers before (just didn't have time) and they did water things down a bit, so I just added a little more vinegar and suger. I also only used 1 tablespoon of the sesame oil (very strong flavor)and added red pepper flakes and green onion too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Love it! I omitted the fresh red chile peppers and substituted them with red pepper flakes. I also added a chopped green onion. This makes a LOT of "dressing". Even after adding another cucumber, I still had a lot left over. You could half the liquid ingredients and still have plenty. Very yummy! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I reduced the salad dressing by half and still had quite a bit of it. I added some red onion and was glad i did because it might have been a bit bland without it. The dressing is very good, I did use fresh ginger and garlic and let the salad marinate for about three hours before eating. Served with Honey Ginger Salmon on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I had a cucumber salad at a Thai restaurant and was looking for something similiar to make at home. This was very close. Tasted great. I thought it was better the 2nd day after marinating in the vinegar mixture overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This is a great change of pace from the standard vinegar cucumber recipe. I left out the peppers because I don't like spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Very good, and loved by our whole family (including 2 teens who aren't big on cucumbers). Still a great recipe if you happen to be lacking ginger and can't get it. Red pepper flakes work if you are lacking the chilis. I like to let it sit for half an hour in the fridge so the cucumbers really pick up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This was good. Nice mix of flavors and a great way to use up the plethora of cucumbers during the summer. I didn't have any peppers or sesame seeds on hand, so threw in some green onions. Was a hit at the dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
These were pretty good. I didn't have any fresh chile peppers so I used cayenne pepper. Next time I will cut the vinegar and sugar in half, they were a little too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Followed directions and it turned out great! Agree that it has plenty of dressing and could probably halve that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States