Asian Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Changes I've made to the dressing...EVERYONE who's tasted it demands the recipe!...Changes to the dressing as follows: (scaled the recipe for 4, so amounts are for that)...add 1 tsp (dark) sesame oil, 1/4 tsp sambal olek (chili paste) (or up to 1/2 tsp to taste),change brown sugar to 2Tb, pinch ground ginger instead of fresh, eliminate garlic. I don't use all of the dressing made...use just enough to lightly dress the salad ......Yummmmmm!!!! I think the sesame oil and chile paste do the trick!!! Chili paste does not make it hot/spicy, but gives just another "what is in there?!?!?" flavor layer....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is was wonderful! I made a giant bowl full for dinner and am eating what's left for lunch. Which is saying something because I only eat leftovers if I really like them. Otherwise I pawn them off on my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is the same as Chinese Cabbage Salad I -but that dressing contains no peanut butter and everyone loves it. Made this one yesterday and was a big hit - lots of raves from everyone - basic same dressing except adding peanut butter. Nice addition. I added cucumber, green onion and mixed nuts. Am making tonight again and adding chicken for a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Love the dressing for this recipe. I make the dressing and use prepackaged broccoli slaw and/or coleslaw mix. I do add the chopped green onions, cilantro, and red bell peppers. Yummy! I always get asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was delicious! The peanut butter is definitely the secret. I took the lazy route and bought a bag of pre-chopped cole slaw mix from Publix and threw it in a bowl with a few tablespoons of peanut butter, about a tablespoon of rice wine vinegar, 2 tablespoons of sesame oil, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, 1 tbsp soy sauce and lots of minced ginger and a few dashes of garlic powder. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamieathena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Excellent. Another recipe I can vary depending upon what I have on hand. Per my usual method, I double the garlic and halve the sweetener, and throw in whatever vegetables I have that need to be used up. The secret IS the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This is an amazing twist on "coleslaw". My family loved it. It was even good the next day in a wrap with grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This was some of the best coleslaw I've ever made. I used only green cabbage since that's all I had and substituted white vinegar for the rice wine vinegar. It was delicious, we couldn't stop eating it. About a third of the recipe should be enough for a family. I served it with pork dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Delicious! I had something similar at an expensive Japanese steak house and haven't been able to forget it. This recipe is a dead ringer for that one at a fraction of the cost! I was in a hurry, so I used pre-shredded coleslaw mix and halved the dressing, then tossed in a handful of crumbled ramen noodles. I could eat the whole bowl in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elverson, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was a very tasty slaw. I really enjoyed the peanut butter and ginger taste. I think nect time, I will use a bit less oil and less sugar. It lacked a little bit of tanginess. For the vegetables, I only used one kind of cabbage (green), grated carrots and a big grated daikon radish. I also didn't use all the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States