Asian Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is the best asian dressing I've made! I substituted the vegetable oil and used sesame oil instead. That gave it more of an asian flair. I also added 1tbsp of Siracha hot sauce, added a lot more ginger (b/c I love the flavor) and only used 1/2 the peanut butter(so that its not so thick). Outstanding! The cabbage mix lasts a long time in the fridge. I served it atop some korean style tacos (used the Kolbe Korean meat from Trader joes). Big crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Very flavorful, lots of great fresh vegetables, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
The most helpful tip I have for this recipe if you don't have a crowd large enough to eat it all in one sitting: mix the dressing and the veggies but keep them separate. Dish out the veggie mixture into individual servings and dress them like a salad. The chopped veggies will last a couple days longer that way. I was pleasantly surprised how delicious it was; will definitely make again. I didn't want to bother with three kinds of cabbage, so I just shredded a whole head of napa and it was great. Also, I made a mistake when making the dressing -- I grabbed a bottle of mirin instead of rice vinegar (they look so similar)! To fix it, I then added the correct amount of vinegar, but then it was too much and too thin. So, I discarded about 1/2 a cup of the mixture, and added a bit more peanut butter back in to thicken it back up. Honestly the mirin kind of added something I think, it ended up being very good dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Loved this! I used packaged coleslaw mix for the green cabbage and carrots, and then just added sliced red cabbage, red bell pepper, and cilantro. The dressing is delicious! I would use the dressing on other things - maybe baked chicken or a regular salad! I do recommend NOT mixing the dressing with the cabbage until you are ready to serve because the cabbage does get wilty fairly quickly. I also added crunchy chow mein noodles on top. I think it would be good with mandarin oranges and/or raisins too. Everyone at the BBQ potluck loved it and ate it all. I had to send the recipe to six different people! It does make a lot. It was perfect for a BBQ but would have been too much for a smaller gathering. I would halve the recipe for just my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I love this slaw. One tip: I use packaged cabbage/slaw mix but, do not buy the package of "Angelhair Slaw". The cabbage is cut to thin to hold up to this dressing. This slaw makes a great as a main dish salad with chicken added. It is a lot of dressing for one package of slaw mix. I used the leftover dressing in a beef and broccoli stirfry. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is a really great slaw to take on picnics since is contains nothing that will spoil. As a timesaver, I found out you can use 1 3lb bag of warehouse club pre-shredded coleslaw mix and the dressing quantity is the perfect. Changes I made to the dressing (based on personal taste): I used extra chunky peanut butter (nice textural crunch from the big pieces of peanut), I added 1.5 tbs Sesame Oil and 1 tbs chili-garlic paste (available in just about every grocery store) for just a little heat. Makes extra, it's going to be a hit at your party!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Delicious and fresh. Prepping everything takes a little time but is well worth it. I wonder if the dressing itself would be a good dip for spring rolls?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupsandcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I had tasted something similar to this recipe before and recalled the one ingredient this recipe lacks. Raisins. Add raisins to taste. You'll be glad you did. (And, as someone else noted, I also added a small amount of sesame seed oil, which should only be used in moderation.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Very good! I substituted two tablespoons of sesame oil out of the six tablespoons of vegetable oil just to boost that asian vibe. Could also sub out the green or red cabbage for shredded carrots and/or onions if that's all you have in the fridge. I'm tempted to add just a tad more peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Added lime juice and sesame seeds to the mix. Also decreased the oil & substituted sesame oil for most of it. Used only Napa cabbage. It was wonderful! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States