Asian Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Loved this! I used packaged coleslaw mix for the green cabbage and carrots, and then just added sliced red cabbage, red bell pepper, and cilantro. The dressing is delicious! I would use the dressing on other things - maybe baked chicken or a regular salad! I do recommend NOT mixing the dressing with the cabbage until you are ready to serve because the cabbage does get wilty fairly quickly. I also added crunchy chow mein noodles on top. I think it would be good with mandarin oranges and/or raisins too. Everyone at the BBQ potluck loved it and ate it all. I had to send the recipe to six different people! It does make a lot. It was perfect for a BBQ but would have been too much for a smaller gathering. I would halve the recipe for just my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I love this slaw. One tip: I use packaged cabbage/slaw mix but, do not buy the package of "Angelhair Slaw". The cabbage is cut to thin to hold up to this dressing. This slaw makes a great as a main dish salad with chicken added. It is a lot of dressing for one package of slaw mix. I used the leftover dressing in a beef and broccoli stirfry. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is a really great slaw to take on picnics since is contains nothing that will spoil. As a timesaver, I found out you can use 1 3lb bag of warehouse club pre-shredded coleslaw mix and the dressing quantity is the perfect. Changes I made to the dressing (based on personal taste): I used extra chunky peanut butter (nice textural crunch from the big pieces of peanut), I added 1.5 tbs Sesame Oil and 1 tbs chili-garlic paste (available in just about every grocery store) for just a little heat. Makes extra, it's going to be a hit at your party!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Delicious and fresh. Prepping everything takes a little time but is well worth it. I wonder if the dressing itself would be a good dip for spring rolls?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupsandcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I had tasted something similar to this recipe before and recalled the one ingredient this recipe lacks. Raisins. Add raisins to taste. You'll be glad you did. (And, as someone else noted, I also added a small amount of sesame seed oil, which should only be used in moderation.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Very good! I substituted two tablespoons of sesame oil out of the six tablespoons of vegetable oil just to boost that asian vibe. Could also sub out the green or red cabbage for shredded carrots and/or onions if that's all you have in the fridge. I'm tempted to add just a tad more peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Added lime juice and sesame seeds to the mix. Also decreased the oil & substituted sesame oil for most of it. Used only Napa cabbage. It was wonderful! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
My husband didn't like this...I didn't really like it either, and I couldn't even get my daughter to eat it. I believe the Rice Vinegar was a bit too strong and that was the problem. I don't think I'll be making this again, maybe a modified version, but not this way...Maybe if the Rice Vinegar was cut in half, it won't have such a strong taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Love this recipe. I wanted a recipe using fats that are good for you instead of mayonnaise based. This fills the bill and was delicious. I used cashew butter instead of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I am actually only rating the dressing portion of the recipe. I tried this recipe tonight but used a bag of Broccoli Slaw instead of the cabbage. I used one bag of the slaw and cut the dressing in half. It was delicious! I threw in a few raisins and let it chill for a few hours before serving. I served it with "Slow Cooker Honey Garlic Chicken"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States