Asian Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Delicious. We made this as a light, family main course. We used olive oil and regular peanut butter. Hint: If you want to use two cabbages instead of three, the Napa cabbage and bag of cole slaw works well, and isn't too "cabbage-y" but perfect. The red peppers and carrots take care of the colorful appeal. The cilantro and ginger make this dish smell heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I love coleslaw and hate mayo. This was a great take on one of my pot luck favorites. I would make this again definitely. It was a hit at the church picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCTERIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawtell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tujunga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Great recipe! I get compliments every time I make it. I use broccoli slaw (has carrots in it) instead of cabbage and I don't put in onions or the vegetable oil (I agree with prior review that the peanut butter has enough oil in it) I do add shelled edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This is really delicious. I've been taking a cooking class with a Thai teacher, and this recipe compares favorably! I did add a few ingredients based on the cooking class: juice of a lime, a Tbs of fish sauce, a couple Tbs minced mint. I used one less Tbs oil than called for. If I'd had some peanuts I would have put some in. I think it would also be delicious with shrimp, or very firm tofu cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Served this dish while on vacation with 3 other families and received nothing but praise and rave reviews - this recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Very good! I used broccoli stalks shredded in the food processor instead of the green cabbage. I also used half fresh basil and cilantro and subbed out half of the veg oil for sesame oil. I have made many variations of asian coleslaw but this was the first one with peanut butter. I liked it a lot. Some toasted sesame seeds would be a great addition. Served as a side for Asian Spicy Tuna Salad sandwiches also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Excellant! Made a double batch for a picnic and it all went. People loved it and went nuts over the dressing. It's smells and taste incredible with the fresh ginger, garlic and cilantro. I went a smidge lighter on the oil and subing just a little out for sesame oil. I also used only half the red bell pepper called for maybe because mine were large and it seems alot. The slaw part is very adaptable. It's the dressing that makes this salad unique and a freshing change of pace. Loved it!! Thanks RRITCHESKE! (*update* - made again using all natural peanut butter and thought because of the natural oil present it made the dressing a little too oily. stick with blended creamy peanut butter for best results.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
really good , it get saggy really fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Very nice slaw. I didn't have peanut butter so I used sunflower seed butter instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Delicious. I used about 1/2 the oil called for to lighten it up and was still really good. The second time around, added a grated apple into the slaw and used some sesame oil in place of some of the vegetable oil, and that was great too (apples + peanut butter = yum!). I've also used the dressing as a more traditional salad dressing, for an asian chicken salad or similar. This one's a keeper, mostly for the dressing; the rest of the ingredients can be modified for whatever you have handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States