Asian Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I guess I'm the minority here because this did not float my boat at all. After assembling the dressing, I knew I was not going to like this but hoped that after tossing everything together I would have a change of heart. Not so much. The dressing was just too savory for my liking (and it was VERY garlicky). Had there been a hint of sweetness to it, I think I would have enjoyed it MUCH more. NOTE: To save some time, I purchased small bags of pre-shredded green and red cabbage but since my grocer does not sell pre-packaged Napa cabbage, I had to shred that myself. My final change was to use matchstick cut carrots (found in my grocer's produce section) instead of slicing them myself. FYI: I knew that the full recipe would make a TON, so I scaled back. Halving this was definitely a smart move. I had some leftover slaw, but only a small amount (contrary to my opinion, my husband and parents thought this was OK). Maybe this will be a winner for you, but it didn't do much for me. Thanks anyways, RRITCHESKE. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This dressing is awesome! I didn't follow exact directions, as I am only preparing for 2, and after reading several reviews, the result was delicious. I could put this dressing on any salad or use as a spring roll dip. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dlw123go

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Absolutely amazing. I highly suggest this as a topping on Shrimp or fish tacos. If you are eating healthy and still want things tasty this recipe is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Love this. But don't need as much oil as it calls for. the flavors are excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I tried half this recipe with only pakaged coleslaw and none of the other vegetables. The dressing was not good so I tweaked it. I added lots of sliced almonds, hot curry powder, lime juice and white sugar. let sit until sugar disolves. You could even add some ramen noodles and the spice packet to the dressing. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
My review is mainly for the dressing. Following other reviewers' suggestions, I used toasted sesame oil instead of vegetable oil (that gives a more pan-Asian flavor) and added about 6 drops of lemon juice from the little concentrated ones you buy at the grocery store. Because my son is highly allergic to peanuts and we do not have peanut products in the house, I subbed SunButter (sunflower butter) for the peanut butter. If you are making this salad, I don't think you need to stick to the letter of the law for the greens and veggies. Really what you want is at least a base of a crispy crunchy greens. Then add in whatever else you feel would go with a tart peanut-buttery asian inspired dressing. If you want to go in the Vietnamese / Thai direction, you could serve it over a cup of rice noodles of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candlebat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Great go to recipe! I followed the instructions exactly (how else to you rate a recipe??) and it was perfect. I did use sesame oil for 1/2 the oil the second time, because I like the sesame flavor too. Thanks for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dekangaro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
One of my favorite slaw recipes. A great side for asian marinated salmon. A perfect pair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rural Hall, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was amazing. Huge hit with a big crowd - doubled the recipe and there was literally not a drop left. Shortcuts: Buy bagged cole slaw/cabbage mix for the green cabbage - then I just had to cut red cabbage. I also bought bagged carrots and added a bit more then the recipe calls for - gives it good color and texture. Used the fresh ground ginger & garlic from the tubes which was also a time saver. I added fresh ground pepper to the peanut butter dressing - gave it a bit more dimension. To finish it off I took a bunch of roasted peanuts and crushed them and tossed them in just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Love the dressing with or without the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States