Asian Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Nicole Boucher
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
After reading the recipe & reviews, I immediately went to tweaking this recipe. First, I cut the amount of cabbage & veggies in half (except cilantro, I doubled that. Big fan) & still had more than plenty. I used 20 oz. of bagged Angel hair cabbage & 12 oz. of Broccoli slaw. I left the amounts for the dressing the same as I like a wet slaw (except the oil - I halved it & used sesame instead of vegetable oil) then threw in some Crushed Red Pepper for a bite of heat. (Don't dress this salad until you're ready to eat it, though - that was a good tip.) I also added a large can of those crunchy Chow Mein noodles & a large can of mandarin oranges. Lemme tell ya - I took this to an Asian-themed dinner party & it was a HUGE hit. This is one very UN-BORING coleslaw. I'll be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Boucher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I have made this recipe dozens of times for pot lucks and everyone raves about it. Usually one or two people ask for the recipe. I've never made it with napa cabbage, because I use what I grow in my garden. I think it tastes better with fresh cabbage from the garden. I've eaten it after it has been in the fridge for more than a week. It is not quite as crisp and the dressing is a bit watery but it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I loved this salad. I cut the oil and vinegar by 1 Tblsp. and there was plenty of dressing. Also I don't care for large pieces of carrot in a salad so the carrot was shredded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Super duper! My teenage son made it for us (after I assigned him to) and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fadano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made a number of adjustments the second time around and it was even better (I tried to list them here, but ran out of characters). Not being a fan of cilantro, I left it out. Always being iffy with ginger I left it out as well (I was forced to anyway since Mariano's produce is sucking lately, and the piece I bought was rotted out). Leaving either or both out still gives a slightly sweet and somewhat bitter dish. I agree wholeheartedly that you should toss the slaw with the dressing as you serve - the vinegar breaks the veggies down really quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I halved the recipe, used seasoned rice vinegar, sesame oil ( a little less than called for), crunchy peanut butter (loved the extra crunch it gave the salad), and Splenda brown sugar blend to taste.Otherwise no changes. My family loved this slaw and we will use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
We've made this several times. First time we followed the recipe exactly and it was a huge hit at work potluck. Subsequent times we have modified based on ingredients on hand (sometimes using green cabbage only or skipping red peppers). Every time it has been delicious! Depending on the number we are serving we have cut recipe in half or doubled. This one is best fresh as vegetables will wilt. To save time I usually prep veggies and dressing separately so I can just mix prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
this is sooo good, went well with my Korean bbq beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
It was a good coleslaw, but a little bit too much ginger for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Delicious! Of course made a few alterations- left out the peanut butter completely (just a matter of taste and it was sweet enough without it), and used bagged cole slaw mix. Halved the recipe as other suggested, and it balanced perfectly for the entire bag, it even stayed fairly crisp through the weekend leftovers. Served it on a pulled pork sandwich, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States