Asian Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Excellant! Made a double batch for a picnic and it all went. People loved it and went nuts over the dressing. It's smells and taste incredible with the fresh ginger, garlic and cilantro. I went a smidge lighter on the oil and subing just a little out for sesame oil. I also used only half the red bell pepper called for maybe because mine were large and it seems alot. The slaw part is very adaptable. It's the dressing that makes this salad unique and a freshing change of pace. Loved it!! Thanks RRITCHESKE! (*update* - made again using all natural peanut butter and thought because of the natural oil present it made the dressing a little too oily. stick with blended creamy peanut butter for best results.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
really good , it get saggy really fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Very nice slaw. I didn't have peanut butter so I used sunflower seed butter instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Delicious. I used about 1/2 the oil called for to lighten it up and was still really good. The second time around, added a grated apple into the slaw and used some sesame oil in place of some of the vegetable oil, and that was great too (apples + peanut butter = yum!). I've also used the dressing as a more traditional salad dressing, for an asian chicken salad or similar. This one's a keeper, mostly for the dressing; the rest of the ingredients can be modified for whatever you have handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Changes I've made to the dressing...EVERYONE who's tasted it demands the recipe!...Changes to the dressing as follows: (scaled the recipe for 4, so amounts are for that)...add 1 tsp (dark) sesame oil, 1/4 tsp sambal olek (chili paste) (or up to 1/2 tsp to taste),change brown sugar to 2Tb, pinch ground ginger instead of fresh, eliminate garlic. I don't use all of the dressing made...use just enough to lightly dress the salad ......Yummmmmm!!!! I think the sesame oil and chile paste do the trick!!! Chili paste does not make it hot/spicy, but gives just another "what is in there?!?!?" flavor layer....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is was wonderful! I made a giant bowl full for dinner and am eating what's left for lunch. Which is saying something because I only eat leftovers if I really like them. Otherwise I pawn them off on my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is the same as Chinese Cabbage Salad I -but that dressing contains no peanut butter and everyone loves it. Made this one yesterday and was a big hit - lots of raves from everyone - basic same dressing except adding peanut butter. Nice addition. I added cucumber, green onion and mixed nuts. Am making tonight again and adding chicken for a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Love the dressing for this recipe. I make the dressing and use prepackaged broccoli slaw and/or coleslaw mix. I do add the chopped green onions, cilantro, and red bell peppers. Yummy! I always get asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was delicious! The peanut butter is definitely the secret. I took the lazy route and bought a bag of pre-chopped cole slaw mix from Publix and threw it in a bowl with a few tablespoons of peanut butter, about a tablespoon of rice wine vinegar, 2 tablespoons of sesame oil, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, 1 tbsp soy sauce and lots of minced ginger and a few dashes of garlic powder. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamieathena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States