Asian Coleslaw Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I'm not a big fan of cole slaw AT ALL, but my sister-in-law made this at a barbecue and I had 3rds! Even the kids gobbled it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Quick easy and no heavy dressing - great as a side or a meal! I used Chicken Ramen noodles and warmed in a pan with seeds and onions.I added diced apples (pea-size) and omitted sunflower seed. Instead I used sesame & flax for flavor and color. Serve on a bed of chow mien noodles and WOW, you got Crunch & Flavor! I couldn't wait the 2 hours- I may never get to find out if that enhances the flavor! Too good to wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was so yummy! I used shrimp flavored ramen and didn't moisten the noodles at all. Followed the rest of the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Do not need to boil noodles, just crunch up and add all ingredients! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynda
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Wonderful, Toast the ramen noodles and throw in a jalapeno for spice, traded 1 T of olive oil for sesame oil, didn't use the flavoring from the ramen noodles b/c of sodium :( but really was great without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I really liked this recipe, but like someone else said I think the noodles should just be broken up and not run under hot water. They don't stay crunchy and I think it is much better with the crunchy texture. I used one packet of stevia for the sugar substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azsniders

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I really loved this coleslaw. The noodles do get soft, but I enjoyed the different textures of the crunchy cabbage and the soft noodles. I didn't have Splenda so I used a Sweet n' Low packet and just sprinkled it, stirred, and tasted until it was sweet enough for my taste. For some reason the grocery store was out of coleslaw mix so I just shredded a small head of cabbage and carrots, and I omitted the sunflower seeds because I didn't have them, but I'm sure they would have added another element of delicious crunch. I think I'll be making this on a weekly basis, we had it with stir fry but it would make a great snacking salad too! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I loved the recipe although I did change a few things. The beef ramah noodles changed to chicken. The sunflower seeds became almonds. The olive oil was vegetable or canola oil and the splenda became sugar. Everone said mine was exceptional and would I bring it to all the parties so I guess it was great either way. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hazard, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I have made this twice in two days. Once for a party we went to and once for us because it was so good! I made it exactly as stated in the recipe for the party. The whole bowl disappeared quickly. I made it for us using Balsamic vinegar instead of cider. Had to sample before dinner....delicious. The only thing I didn't do either time is boil the water for the ramen noodles. Yesterday, after it chilled for a few hours, the crunch was gone. However, we liked the crunch of them, so I am not allowing that long to chill. A very tasty, lighter slaw. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceankath

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I could have eaten the entire bowl of this. I will be making this delicious, light dish weekly. My family loved it. It was easy and healthy. I might try adding different veggies to change it up, like edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States