Asian Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Amazing with the easy chicken satay on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This was pretty good, obviously better than traditional rice. I thought it would have a ton more flavor but it was otherwise fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwileygo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This rice was a huge hit at my dinner table!! I don't think that I will ever make rice with just water ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Very hard to explain the taste of this rice. It was good and different. It was a little sweet and a little salty but nothing overwhelming. I will be making this rice again and again when we need something different for the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This makes the perfect coconut rice in terms of flavour. I make it in my rice cooker. When cooked in the rice cooker, there is too much liquid in the recipe, so I only add 3/4 cup of water, keeping everything else the same. Just like the coconut rice from our favourite Thai restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Even after all the liquid had been absorbed the rice was undercooked. I added some extra water. The flavor was subtle but excellent. Next time I will reduce the rice to 1c to avoid undercooked rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I have made this rice twice. It seems to have a rich quality to it. The richness outweighs any new flavor. So it doesn't really taste the way it sounds. Once you get past that expectation, it is really fantastic. The first time, I received comments from my girls that the rice was good. The second time, the men of the house became passionate about this rice. I prepared as instructed with no problems. Served with pan fried chicken thighs and stir fry veggies with soy sauce and garlic. Beautiful, although the rice seems to have upstaged the rest of the meal. Seems like it would be good with a Hawaiian pork dish (my next cooking adventure).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This rice was wonderful! I served it with the Asian Style Country Ribs recipe on this site. We thought that it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is rather bland, but try adding a bit of toasted sweetened coconut on the top...adds a nice crunch and lots of flavor. I have been making this for years and always comes out delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Good rice for a spicy dish like Spicy Orange Zest Beef . If coconut milk isn't available, but coconuts are, make your own. Grate fresh coconut and put in a pot, pour boiling water over it ( 1 C pulp to 1 C water ) . Let it soak for 5 to 10 minutes and strain through cheese cloth. Repeat and combine extracts. The first time will give you something approximating coconut cream, the second more like coconut milk. I find adding the two todether is right for my taste, YMMV.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico

Displaying results 81-90 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States