Asian Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This was soooo goood!! It isn't a strong flavor so it perfectly complements any really flavorful dish as a side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I liked the "idea" but did not want the high saturated fat content of coconut milk. I used coconut water for all the liquid (omitting sugar, c. milk, and water). I also added some fresh grated ginger. The rice had a slight sweet taste to it and went well with Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs. My man doesn't like "plain" white rice, but loved this. FYI, Coconut water is high in potassium and vitamin C and has 0 fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Excellent recipe! I bought some very good Californian Jasmine rice that I have been really loving, and it went perfectly in this dish. I liked the subtle coconut flavor that it offered, and it went well with a coconut chicken dish I made also from this website. I will be using this as a staple side dish, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
A staple in our home, so delicious as a side when cooking thai food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Really sweet, but so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Very good match with the Curry chicken that my husband makes. Love the texture, will be preparing this rice again and again I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Since I ran out of coconut milk, I happened to have a concentrated paste for coconut horchata. I used mostly water and in place of the 14 oz of coconut milk I used whole milk and added the concentrate. I then took a spoonful of coconut oil with natural curry flavor (while it was hardened) and threw it in the liquids. I took a handful of dried coconut and threw it in there with the rice. Unfortunately, I was the only one who liked it. My husband doesn't like anything with coconut and the kids thought the rice was too "perfumey."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Vasquez-Cone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA
Living In: Antigua, Sacatepéquez, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This was delicious. I cooked it in a rice cooker exactly to recipe instructions. At the end, I separated the grains with a fork and worked in 1/8 tsp of coconut oil which really made the flavour pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
The texture was good but the flavor was definitely lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I just made this for the first time. I served myself a small bowl and sat down to peruse the comments. I live in Tucson and my rice came out perfectly. While looking at comments, I ate the whole thing. I don't usually eat plain rice, I like to add butter or salt or soy sauce or broth or all of the above. This rice was yummy all by itself. Thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States