Asian Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Maybe it was the type of coconut milk we used, but it was missing a certain kick to it. I would have preferred something a bit sweeter, but the texture and stickiness turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anguye52

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
So easy and so good. Nice option for rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Nice light flavor of coconut, doesn't overwhelm the meal. Served it with Coconut shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This needs a contrasting flavor to the coconut. I stirred some Tabasco into crushed pineapple and put a dollop on top of the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter J Martin
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Very good! I toasted the rice first in coconut oil to add a little extra coconut flavor. I added some sugar and more liquid (slightly more) then it called for. Turned out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWPRINCESS7284
Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gardenchef
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
My second try on this recipe was a success! After cooking the rice in the rice cooker, I cooked it again in a pan with oil, garlic and spicy anchovies. Served with green onions as toppings. Oh, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardenchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Don't expect a strong coconut taste. It's perfect for Asian dishes. I added unsweetened coconut, sliced almonds, and parsley to fancy it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pooler, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Being a vegetarian, I love cooking this rice to eat with a lot of different dishes. I made it tonight with a vegan red beans recipe I found. Such a delicious and light flavored rice. Goes well with almost anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Miramar, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This has a mild coconut flavor along with nuttiness of the jasmine rice. I thought it was just okay but my 12yo asked for seconds. I think next time I'll try the coconut lime rice recipe instead since it has more dimension which this recipe clearly lacks. Just bland and boring to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I followed the directions exactly, because it's pretty much the same way I make my perfect rice: Mix rice and water, bring to boil, give it a stir, cover it, let it be for 20 minutes. After 20 minutes this was just a gloppy mess with crunchy rice. I guess the coconut milk doesn't allow the rice to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goddess63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States