Asian Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I just made this for the first time. I served myself a small bowl and sat down to peruse the comments. I live in Tucson and my rice came out perfectly. While looking at comments, I ate the whole thing. I don't usually eat plain rice, I like to add butter or salt or soy sauce or broth or all of the above. This rice was yummy all by itself. Thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Made this in my rice cooker and found it a nice change from making regular white rice. The coconut milk comes through very little. Hubby liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
The family loved it added shredded coconut and served with Korean marinated chuck roast sliced thin yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Bland and no real coconut flavor. Interesting recipe and gave the jasmine rice a nice "creamy" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was really nice, although I did the measurements just by going on what my bag of rice said, and substituting the coconut milk for water -- the can had two cups, and the bag called for 3 cups water for 2 cups of rice. Worked out really well, and has a nice, soft coconut flavor... not overpowering at all. Made this with the Asian Style Country Ribs recipe on this site and they went together great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
The only change I made was using stevia instead of sugar. It came out perfectly and was delicious. Had to keep the old man out of the kitchen to prevent him from scoffing it all up on us :-) I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I loved it. Family thought it was so so. I turned the leftover rice into hot cereal the next morning by adding cinnamon,nutmeg,butter and milk. Sweetened with agave. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of five

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Photo by NekiaNichelleCooks
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This recipe turned out perfect for me!! Yummy. I paired it with Spicy Chicken Teriyaki & Stir-Fried Cabbage. I know a lot of people had trouble with this recipe here are some tips. 1. I used bottled water (only because I have well water at home and hate cooking with it) 2. Whenever I cook rice, I use 2 parts water and 1 part rice. So if you are using 2 cups of water use 1 cup of rice or 4 cups of water use 2 cups of rice. So instead of the measurements listed I used additional water, 2 tablespoons of sugar, coconut milk (I used La Preferida Cream of Coconut) and olive and brought to a boil. (DO NOT ADD SALT YET) 3. Once boiling add the rice. Stir a little and reduce the heat. Cover 4.You will see the water reduce. Once the water starts dissipating reduce the heat to real low. 5. Once the rice seems to have all the liquids dissolved, take cover off and taste. At this point, it should be cooked thoroughly. Add salt or butter to your liking. Hope this helps! Enjoy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
not alot of taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This was the best rice I've ever tasted. The coconut flavor was subtle, the rice cook perfectly, soft fluffy. I did add a little salt to the water before cooking. This recipe is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States