Asian Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was really nice, although I did the measurements just by going on what my bag of rice said, and substituting the coconut milk for water -- the can had two cups, and the bag called for 3 cups water for 2 cups of rice. Worked out really well, and has a nice, soft coconut flavor... not overpowering at all. Made this with the Asian Style Country Ribs recipe on this site and they went together great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
The only change I made was using stevia instead of sugar. It came out perfectly and was delicious. Had to keep the old man out of the kitchen to prevent him from scoffing it all up on us :-) I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I loved it. Family thought it was so so. I turned the leftover rice into hot cereal the next morning by adding cinnamon,nutmeg,butter and milk. Sweetened with agave. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of five

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Photo by NekiaNichelleCooks
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This recipe turned out perfect for me!! Yummy. I paired it with Spicy Chicken Teriyaki & Stir-Fried Cabbage. I know a lot of people had trouble with this recipe here are some tips. 1. I used bottled water (only because I have well water at home and hate cooking with it) 2. Whenever I cook rice, I use 2 parts water and 1 part rice. So if you are using 2 cups of water use 1 cup of rice or 4 cups of water use 2 cups of rice. So instead of the measurements listed I used additional water, 2 tablespoons of sugar, coconut milk (I used La Preferida Cream of Coconut) and olive and brought to a boil. (DO NOT ADD SALT YET) 3. Once boiling add the rice. Stir a little and reduce the heat. Cover 4.You will see the water reduce. Once the water starts dissipating reduce the heat to real low. 5. Once the rice seems to have all the liquids dissolved, take cover off and taste. At this point, it should be cooked thoroughly. Add salt or butter to your liking. Hope this helps! Enjoy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
not alot of taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This was the best rice I've ever tasted. The coconut flavor was subtle, the rice cook perfectly, soft fluffy. I did add a little salt to the water before cooking. This recipe is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I've never had "Asian" style coconut rice, so I wasn't sure what to expect. This reminds of the flavor of Jamaican rice & peas, just minus the "peas". The coconut flavor is subtle, as one should expect with coconut milk. I found that adding some additional salt gave it the flavor I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
My rice came out pretty good, I was concerned it was going to be gluggy but the excess seemed to evaporate into pretty fluffy rice. I did add a drop or two of coconut extract as a test and a little grated ginger, but I like it either way to be honest. The only thing I definitely changed was to add only a pinch of sugar (the brand of coconut milk I have is quite sweet) and 1/2t salt. My rice took about 15 minutes to cook on a really low simmer, I found the amount of liquid was just right as I used quite a wide based pan so the rice was a thin layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
My go-to for authentic-ish coconut rice. I use organic coconut milk, and it tastes so much fresher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dobermanmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This rice recipe was delicious. I didn't have any Basmati or Jasmine rice, so we just used regular white rice. Our son thought it tasted like pudding. We didn't change anything from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States