Asian Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I made this as written today as an accompaniment to Aminah Rahman's Chickpea Curry, and it wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. The rice cooked just fine--those who are having cooking issues need to modify their heat levels, I would guess--but it was bland. I'm fine with the very light coconut flavor, but there was something missing, perhaps because I usually cook my rice with butter. Next time I'll probably try sauteing the rice in a little coconut oil first; normally I do this with butter, and it adds a lovely depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMHeckel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
The directions are just right. The rice was fluffy and fully cooked. I made it without the sugar and, for us, it was perfect! As someone else noted, it's far more fragrant while cooking than the resulting subtle flavor but that's appropriate for a side dish (not a dessert). I can't wait to try it with Indian entrees. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
So good! Tastes great on it's own or with any Asian or Indian dish. I use medium grain rice for mine, it has a nice sticky texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
The flavour is solid, but I was looking for a more pronounced flavour. Will try some of Tina C's suggestions next time. First time I've done rice stove top in a few years, and I know I'll be doing it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time tonight. It was fantastic. We had it with citrus salmon and orange-cilantro coleslaw. My whole family loved it! It cooked perfectly and was light and fluffy. For those who want more coconut flavor, I accidentally used coconut cream instead of coconut milk. It had a wonderful coconut flavor that might be more pronounced than with just coconut milk. This will definitely be added to the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
WOW!!! If I could give this more stars I would; and I am a coconut hater through and through. I made it exactly as written. I found it had a tendency to stick to the bottom while cooking so I gave it a few stirs and it was fine. Just keep an eye on it. Yes I know lifting the lid while cooking rice is against the rules :-) Wonderful recipe! I will definitely make this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamm Holben-Czarka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is a great recipe! I added a 1/2 celery stock, 1/2 diced onion and handful of cilantro into pot too (remove celery after cooked). IT was YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Millington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Made the mistake of using a different type of rice for the first time with a brand new recipe. I made double the rice I usually make and I think I used a pot that was too small for the amount that I made. The stuff on the bottom was nicely cooked but the rice on top was crunchy. mixed it around and cooked it a bit more which was OK, but could be better. Will try again. Nice taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Maybe it was the type of coconut milk we used, but it was missing a certain kick to it. I would have preferred something a bit sweeter, but the texture and stickiness turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anguye52

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
So easy and so good. Nice option for rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States