Asian Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Even after all the liquid had been absorbed the rice was undercooked. I added some extra water. The flavor was subtle but excellent. Next time I will reduce the rice to 1c to avoid undercooked rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I have made this rice twice. It seems to have a rich quality to it. The richness outweighs any new flavor. So it doesn't really taste the way it sounds. Once you get past that expectation, it is really fantastic. The first time, I received comments from my girls that the rice was good. The second time, the men of the house became passionate about this rice. I prepared as instructed with no problems. Served with pan fried chicken thighs and stir fry veggies with soy sauce and garlic. Beautiful, although the rice seems to have upstaged the rest of the meal. Seems like it would be good with a Hawaiian pork dish (my next cooking adventure).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This rice was wonderful! I served it with the Asian Style Country Ribs recipe on this site. We thought that it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is rather bland, but try adding a bit of toasted sweetened coconut on the top...adds a nice crunch and lots of flavor. I have been making this for years and always comes out delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Good rice for a spicy dish like Spicy Orange Zest Beef . If coconut milk isn't available, but coconuts are, make your own. Grate fresh coconut and put in a pot, pour boiling water over it ( 1 C pulp to 1 C water ) . Let it soak for 5 to 10 minutes and strain through cheese cloth. Repeat and combine extracts. The first time will give you something approximating coconut cream, the second more like coconut milk. I find adding the two todether is right for my taste, YMMV.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Sobieski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Fantastic! Served with grilled tilapia w/mango salsa from this site & it was excellent! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Awesome rice. Easy recipe to follow, turns out perfect every time. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PikasWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
For those of you who get brown or burned bottoms: your heat is too high. I have a gast stove, and even on its lowest flame rice will burn. I have to take a burner stand from an unused burner and put it on TOP of the burner I'm using, to keep it to a low low simmer. Be careful though not to overturn the pot! My rice turns out perfectly. One word of caution regarding Chef Joy's finger method of measuring liquids for rice: that method can only work on the same size saucepan that she's using-which she doesn't mention. If you use a larger or smaller size, the water level will obviously change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This came out really good! I had some toasted bits on the bottom of my pan but the rice didn't burn, which is a good thing! I added a pinch more sugar at the end but otherwise didn't change the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This was simple to make. Had to add another 1/4 cup of water, but easy to make. I loved it, the kids love it. this will be a regular for me. gonna add a little lime zest next time and maybe just a pinch more sugar. good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canIgrillit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States