Asian Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I was a little worried that the coconut taste would overwhelm this recipe and my husband would guess the flavoring was coconut. I made the recipe as written and the result was a very pleasant taste with a light coconut taste. It paired nicely with 'Mandarin Orange Chicken' from AR, and hubby didn't guess what the flavoring was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I have tried this recipe however instead of using coconut milk I use cream of coconut which is thicker and it works out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
My children are super picky eaters, and the loved this recipe. I added a little bit more salt, and let it cook aprox 22 mins. It came out perfect, everybody had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Very tasty and simple. It goes well with spicy Thai curry dishes. Since we like it a little on sweeter side, I added a handful of sweetened coconut flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Followed exact recipe, with one exception: added 1/2 cup coconut flakes. Wonderful flavor, moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Not much I can add to this! I have made this over 20 times, follow this recipe exactly, and have never had an issue. I always use a large stockpot to ensure that the rice doesn't burn and cooks through. Pairs with everything-- I've served this under fried eggs and bacon, grilled chicken, fish, greens...A great base for most dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babycake1210

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Easy side, a little dry. Not a big coconut flavor to it, but it could be the brand of coconut milk. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I made this as written and it was amazing! I made it to go with jerk chicken. Perfect side for spicy dishes. My husband doesn't like coconut but loved this. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ambrosia Berg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Very tasty. My young boys didn't like the thick consistency BUT my older kids, husband and I loved it! So, I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I used equal parts coconut milk and jasmine rice (well rinsed and drained), doubled the sugar and salt amounts and added sliced green onions. It made for a lightly scented rice. Heat the coconut milk to barely a simmer on medium-low (do not let it roll to a boil because it will rise out of your pot!) and add the rice. Cover, let it come to a boil (a few bubbles), turn the heat down to low, and let steam for 10-15 minutes. Perfectly steamed jasmine rice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States