Asian Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This is absolutely one of my favorite salad recipes! I have made this many times and tweek this depending on what I have on hand. I usually shred one carrot, add some celery, cucumber, cilantro, bean sprouts, mandarin oranges, and fresh button mushrooms. The fried noodles found in a can are easier than frying your own... or sometimes I add some slivered almonds to add a bit of crunch. Also, instead of using iceberg, I prefer to use romaine/spinach or a spring green mix. The dressing is absolutely delicious but I usually halve the amount of oil used in the recipe to make it healthier; doesn't make a difference! I've made this both with seasoned and unseasoned rice vinegar and I prefer the seasoned one in this recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Great! Here is what I did differently. For my greens I used a head of Napa cabbage and a head of romaine chopped well. I added in a lot of thickly shredded carrot, some chopped red bell pepper, chopped sugar snap peas, and cilantro. I toasted some slivered almonds and used instead of sesame seeds. I prepared the rice noodles as written because I couldn't find the prepared ones other reviewers had mentioned and don't care much for the canned chow mein noodles. I'm not sure it is worth the effort and the salad would be fine without them as long as you put almonds in for the crunch. Here is the real time saver. I bought a rotisserie chicken from Safeway and pulled the meat off the bone and shredded it up into a bowl. I doubled the recipe for the dressing, adding a bit less vegetable oil than called for, and used half of it to mix into the shredded chicken and let it sit in the fridge for a couple of hours marinating until I prepared the salad. This made the chicken taste incredible! I mixed everything together in a big bowl except the rice noodles and dressing and when we got to the pot luck I mixed it all together. Fantastic dressing recipe and you can make the salad to suit your taste. I recommend chopping everything into small pieces so you can get a little of everything in every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
Yum! The dressing is a dead-ringer for the ones used on Wendy's Mandarin Chicken Salad and also the asian chicken salads served at Chili's, Houston's and Panera Bread. It seriously should be printed in one of those "secret restaurant recipes revealed" cookbooks. Follow the exact recipe and you will not be disappointed. The only change I would make is...do not fry your own noodles, as suggested. It's a mess and not worth the effort. Look for pre-made fried, rice noodles (La Choy brand) in your asian food section at the grocery store. Pre-made crispy, wonton strips also work well. Also, though it's listed as "optional," you should include the sesame oil. It gives the dressing a rich, but subtle, nutty flavor. Sliced water chestnuts, a little cilantro and mandarin orange segments also add more interest to the plain salad greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
Delicious dressing! For convenience, I substituted a small can of chow mein noodles for the rice noodles, which eliminated Step 2 of the recipe. Instead of the toasted sesame seeds, I used slivered almonds. I added mandarin oranges. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Thank you, Jill! I have searched for the perfect Asian dressing for my variation of this salad, and I will forever use your recipe! This is my all-time favorite salad! This recipe is GREAT as is, but here's what I do differently: For my greens, I use a combination of Napa cabbage, romaine lettuce, and iceberg lettuce. I use broken up Ramen noodles instead of the rice noodles, and I don't saute' them or anything - just straight out of the wrapper and break them up. I usually marinate my chicken in soy sauce or a bought Asian marinade. I also add toasted almonds, which is my favorite part! I mix the greens, green onions, and chicken together and store separately from the ramen noodles, sesame seeds, and almonds to keep them crunchy the next day, if there are leftovers that is! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This is a 5 with a few changes. Must add a good shake of Garlic powder and ground ginger. Also, I added a bit of white wine vinegar in addition to the rice vinegar, cut back a little on the super sweetness. I made mine with napa cabage and spinach leaves, grated up carrots, cucumber, chow mein noodles, and added cashews as I didn't have almonds, also added the seeds. My chicken I had already boiled the night before, so it was cold, I tore it in chunks and soaked it in some of the dressing before adding it to the salad. FANTASTIC!! Tip: when mixing dressings add all the ingrediants together before adding the oil, allows the flavors to meld better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Amazing Taste! Restaurant quality. Will make again and again. Be sure to make extra dressing. It's delicious. Be sure to let dressing stand for 30 minutes. The dressing doesn't taste as good, any sooner than 30. I bought chow mein noodles (instead of rice noodles) and added mandarin oranges in the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I really enjoyed this salad. Just about any combination of veggies go well with this dish. I always double the dressing and add mandarin oj's, almonds and red bell pepper strips. Usually I don't have rice noodles, so I sautee some ramen noodles without the packet. Sometimes I just make the dressing and serve it over shredded cabbage and shredded broccoli mix for a quick lunch. Thanks bunches Jill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Again, great recipe!- This time I added grated ginger and substituted splenda foe 1 tbsp of brown sugar.I added lime juice in the dressing and a can of drained mandarin oranges. I also use romaine instead of iceberg and chow mein noodles. My husband loves this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This recipe has great flavor, but the 1/4 cup of vegetable oil is too much. Cut back the oil to 3 tbsp and you will still retain the great flavor. I love the multiple variations that you can build on to make it unique to one's family. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 448) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States