Asian Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
DISASTER! How are you supposed to cook an entire package of rice noodles "a little bit at a time" with 2 TBS of oil?? I kept adding oil but the noodles never "puffed up" and I had noodle twigs all over the kitchen, even in my hair. My dear husband came in and opened the doors and windows to let out all the smoke, but they were still the needles that you get when you don't cook them "long enough." Is 5 minutes long enough? 20 minutes? "A bit at a time" and I would have been cooking those stupid rice noodles for 2 hours. We aren't picky eaters; my husband is game for anything, but we picked out the chicken chunks and the rest went in the compost. Later a friend pointed me to the eHow article on How to Fry Rice Noodles, which would have been very helpful. For instance, put an INCH of oil in the pan, not two tablespoons! http://www.ehow.com/how_2150226_fry-rice-noodles.html
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Charles Town, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Great salad! I've been looking for a Chinese Chicken Salad with a tasty dressing and this is it! Instead of the iceberg lettuce I used a head of Napa cabbage. Also, I didn't want to fry anything so I used half a package of crispy chow mein noodles. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Very good! I think next time I will add some ginger to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This is so easy to make!!! Every get together I have with my family, they always tell me to make this salad. One of my favorites!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiCACA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was a really great jumping off point. We loved the dressing. I used my hand blender to blend the dressing & it made it really creamy & smooth. That was fun, I haven't tried that before. Also, I'd second what somebody else said about the sesame oil not being optional. I used tahini and it really enhances the flavor of the dressing. I'll have to tried the seasoned rice vinegar as somebody else suggested. Kids voted this one a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
A great salad for having the girls over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I love Chinese chicken salad and this recipe is great. However, for some reason, brown sugar kills the acidity of rice vinegar, so this is best made with white sugar (I know it's not healthy, but...). The first time I made it, I had doubts but I stuck with brown sugar and the dressing came out kind of bland. So, next time, I made it with white sugar, and it came out fantastic! Also, as other reviewers have suggested, vegetable oil can easily be reduced to half (combination of 2 tbsp of vegetable oil and 1 tbsp of sesame oil worked great for me). I was too lazy to make the noodles myself, so I bought a packet of fried wonton strips from the store. I also added mandarin oranges, sliced almonds, and shredded carrots. I made it with Romaine lettuce (just because I like Romaine better) and it was delicious. It is now my favorite salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laneko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good. Only gave it a 4 bc I really think it's too oily. Next time I will cut the oil in half as suggested by others. Thanks for a simple, excellent-flavored dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Yum yum! I added only half the veg oil and it still tasted great! I also added some honey and substituted apple cider vinegar for the rice vinegar. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States