Asian Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Thanks for sharing this recipe! I followed the recipe for the most part. However, I just purchased the La Choy fried rice noodles instead of cooking my own for ease. I also added a few things: mandarin oranges, cucumbers, shredded carrots, and added sliced almonds to the sesame seeds when I toasted them. I also added some ginger powder to the dressing and used sesame chili oil instead of sesame oil (I probably won't do that again since it was a tad too spicy). Lastly, as I frequently do with weekend salads, I bought a rotisserie chicken and chopped that up and tossed it in the salad instead of cooking my own. Leftover chicken or freshly cooked chicken would have been just as good. This was a lovely Sunday summer night dinner for the hubby and me. He said it was the best salad I've made yet. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Thank you for this recipe! I doubled the dressing, but will multiply it next time as I'd like to keep this on hand for everyday salads. I didn't have rice vinegar, so substituted balsamic. I also used white sugar and half of the vegetable oil. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rinster's Corner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Next time I will double the dressing. I also added all of the additions that other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
My husband bought rice sticks and when I tried to break them to fry, they would not break and with much difficulty cut with sissors. I presume these are not the right noodles as in this recipe. What is the difference between rice sticks and rice noodle. Please reply!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made various changes and we both loved this Asian inspired salad. I used 2 sliced chix breasts and marinated them in 2-3 tblsps soy, 2 tblsp honey, 1 tsp red pepper flakes, 1 tblsp crushed ginger, 2 cloves minced garlic & 1/4 C OJ for about 4 hours. I prepared chopped iceburg in each bowl, shredded carrots, scallions, chopped water chestnuts, chopped fresh mint and basil and topped with the sautéed marinated chicken. Next time I will add something crisp/starchy and probably some toasted slivered almonds or crisy noodles. Only used 2 tblsp veggie oil for the dressing and this was excellent...didn't need more oil. Would also be good with some shredded red cabbage and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Primarily used the dressing- made a napa cabbage w/peppers, chicken, green onions & peanuts. I liked it but wanted a bit more zing- perhaps some ginger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by voraciousgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This was great! I made the full amount of dressing and used part of it to marinate some chicken, which we later grilled. I jazzed up the salad by using red leaf lettuce, and adding sliced red bell pepper, blanched sugar snap peas, and fresh pineapple. Instead of dried rice noodles I used some wonton strips I had on hand. We’ll be making this a lot this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
excellent as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This recipe has great flavor, but the 1/4 cup of vegetable oil is too much. Cut back the oil to 3 tbsp and you will still retain the great flavor. I love the multiple variations that you can build on to make it unique to one's family. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
No words to describe the yummy goodness going on in my mouth as I eat it at this very moment. I could DRINK the dressing by itself. Only change was I used the crunchy chow mein noodles instead of frying up rice nooodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 448) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States