Asian Beef with Snow Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Good flavor. I doubled the recipe as others suggested. By the time the sauce thickened, the meat and snow peas were over cooked. I would recommend cooking the sauce separately then adding at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
It was passable. The sauce was just okay. I over-cooked the beef and peas because the sauce took forever to thicken. I had to add lots more cornstarch to get it to thicken. I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: South Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Yup...pretty danged good! I did make a few changes, after reading most of the reviews. 1) I started with about 1/4 c. fine diced onion plus 1/4 c. med. chopped red bell pepper before the garlic/ginger. 2) Didn't have the rice wine so subbed cooking sherry instead - worked fine. 3) Added just a dash of crushed red pepper flake, Chinese five spice, and a dash of bottled teriyaki sauce. 4) I doubled the sauce, adding extra corn starch as I figure it's easier to thin a sauce (with a bit of water) than to stop the train and have to add more thickener. Worked great. Served with homemade fried rice and frozen egg rolls. Winner/winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calumet, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is so flavorful and delicious! To save even more time, you can use Minced Garlic Seasoning instead of actually chopping up garlic, and it tastes just as delicious! We also couldn't find rice wine at our grocery store, so we skipped this, and couldn't even tell anything was missing. We'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Was fast and yummy! You can add any kind do veggies you like! I made it with broccoli, green onions and mushrooms. Then I doubled the sauce. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This was good as written and very adaptable. I prefer to double the sauce, add a little onion and black pepper, and serve it over rice noodles. It's great with a squeeze of fresh lime juice, if eaten with noodles. Very simple sauce, which is great with the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
We loved it! Didn't add rice wine because we didn't have it. I would definitely recommend thickening the sauce before adding it to the meat and veggies. Everything was severely overcooked by the time the sauce thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was a great recipe though I suggest grating the ginger, maybe a garlic press, or putting it through a food processor rather than mincing it because no matter what I couldn't manage to mince it small enough to not keep getting a rather rude surprise every couple bites when I chewed into a piece that had escaped the knife enough to be shockingly strong in my mouth. Other than that this was a fabulous dinner and I think doubling the sauce would be best especially if serving over/with rice, my fiancee and I simply ate the meat and snow peas on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlphaWolfAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I followed this basic recipe with some changes. The sauce was not enough for this recipe, and was not flavorful enough for my taste. I had to embellish it. I added a lot more soy sauce, corn starch, teriyaki sauce and I also added Tonton brand Hibachi steak sauce. This gives the sauce a good flavor. I didn't have the rice wine, so I added a fine drinking sherry(not cooking sherry), and honey for sweetness. I added more veggies: sliced onions, mushrooms, water chestnuts and broccoli. The picture shows mushrooms in the dish, however does not specify it in the ingredients. Instead of the vegetable oil (which I do not use), I substituted it with sesame oil, which adds so much flavor. I guess I did add and change up the recipe to my taste, but everyone's taste is different, so often times the recipe may need tweaking to one's liking. The reason some people add to the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This is now my go to stir fry sauce. This time I used thinly sliced pork, mushrooms, and long beans and it was delicious. It is compatible with any meat/vegetable. I doubled the sauce as other reviewers suggested and I would do it again. It is very nice to have extra sauce for the rice. Very kid friendly but sophisticated at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vicenza, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 769) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States