Asian Beef with Snow Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
It calls for rice WINE, which I had a hard time finding out here in rural America. (I had to make a trip to the Big City!) However, this was excellent. I doubled the sauce, except for the brown sugar. I froze my round steak for about 15-20 minutes so I could slice it very thin. That's the key to having it turn out tender. To the leftovers today, I added mushrooms, zucchini, bean sprouts and some sliced green onion, all sauteed in toasted sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Thatcher, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
There's too much brown sugar in it. Some sesame oil is needed. I'd suggest adding 1/2 cup of beef broth (or more), increasing the wine and soy sauce, plus a little more cornstarch. To me the best type of meat to use is the frozen, thin steak sandwich beef. Marinate the meat for a while to allow the wine and soy sauce to give it more flavor. For a healthy change add sauteed mushrooms, water chestnuts, a few slivvers of peppers, chopped bok choy and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunny

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This recipe is so good! We always double the sauce and add bean sprouts, bamboo shoots and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Doubled the sauce as others suggested and used chicken instead of beef and added asparagus and yellow squash. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
People chill about the picture. The picture with red peppers, zucchini and mushrooms was not posted by the recipe author. You can add any veggies you want and obviously someone did. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Delicious. Raves from entire family. I used notes from several reviewers, don't think it changed recipe all that much-just made it work for me;) I doubled recipe (meat) and quadrupled sauce. Added a generous pinch of red pepper flakes with the garlic and ginger to give it just a little zing. Definitely used more vegetables - why waste a perfectly good stir-fry with just one veggie Threw in broccoli and mushrooms first for a few minutes, then added yellow pepper, snap peas and green onions and then dumped in the sauce. My sauce didn't get that nice glaze I was looking for so removed a little of the sauce and added ~1tsp cornstarch - that did the trick. Beautiful glaze but not too thick, it was perfect. Could prepare this again tonight and make it look completely different - love this basic recipe for a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Lago Vista, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I made this last night all I can say is the main problem was the high salt content
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxy43
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
EASY, QUICK, TASTY. This is a basic Asian stir fry in terms of flavor- not particularly new, but really tasty! FABULOUS for an easy weeknight dinner- it's great to add some variety when you are tired of the same old fare. I was intimidated to try Asian cooking but this recipe made it so simple and as another reviewer commented, really gave me confidence. My only change was omission of ginger which I could picture would take it to another level if you like it. I also tossed in some zucchini which was delish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
The recipe is a good one, it is simple like Chinese cooking is supposed to be. Being Chinese, I advise that if you're going to use beef, pound it and marinate it first, this will make it tender. Use a cut of meat that has a lot of marblelization -- not round or lean meats. Chuck is good or an expensive cut steak like porterhouse, rib eye, if you want to splurge. Chuck cooked quickly in a wok is tender. Use authentic Chinese soy sauce -- Kikkoman, and the run of the mill grocery store brands are icky. So the recipe is correct, but it's the QUALITY of the ingredients, and the QUALITY of the heat source that matters. The higher the temperature of the wok, the more Chinese it's going to taste. Pounding and marinating will tenderize beef and pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I had some snow peas I had frozen last fall, so I made it. Used a scorching hot cast iron skillet and added red chilies. Not a total loss, but not the best ever either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry Combs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 770) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States