Asian Beef with Snow Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS AFTER MAKING THIS ALL MY LIFE: Being Asian, I love running into recipes that remind me of things I already make. The most important thing to take from these reviews is to DOUBLE THE SAUCE. My relatives would not want to eat any of these that have made this as is. ...just doesn't taste like anything you'd have at a good restaurant (as this is american chinese, not authentic). Doubling the sauce ingred. was just the right amount of sauce to accompany a side of rice. Don't overcook the steak. Frying until you get a nice brown color is the perfect way to tell if it's done & the estimate times on the recipe are pretty accurate assuming your slices are thin. Any mixture of veggies work (mushrooms, carrots, frozen peas, red peppers, sliced zucchini, water chestnuts) ...or just grabbing a frozen stir-fry bag of veggies. I add half a bag, and use the other half for the crispy orange chicken from this site that I also make when I'm making oriental food for guests. Red Wine VINEGAR is an acceptable substitution, but I'd encourage you to try more recipes on this site using rice vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1623 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I hate reviews that change the recipe then rate the original one, TRY the original one and let us know. SO..I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE EXACTLY..AWESOME! My husband is not a stir-fry fan, HE IS NOW! "Since trying" the original recipe I have played with it, added zucchini, carrots, etc.. No matter what I add to it, it is ALWAYS A WINNER. This is MUST TRY. THIS is going into my KEEPER RECIPE file! Thanks for a GREAT "AS IS" RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
407 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4everLuuvd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was a great evening meal for the family in my opinion. I did alter the recipe some by adding canned slice mushrooms, water crescents, green onion, and baby corn to the veggies. I also used a snow pea stirfry veggie mix to get more of a variety of veggies (I love'em!). I used butter instead of cooking oil as well to add flavor. Since there were so many veggies, I doubled the sauce mixture and used garlic red wine vinegar in place of the rice wine since I couldn't find it at the store. Served over white rice with chow mein noodles over top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I used a leftover rib eye, cooked to MR, & sliced it thin before sauteeing. I did use sesame oil to saute in, I did double the sauce, I used mirin for the rice wine, added 2 pea size dollops of wasabi, added a half a can of water chestnuts & about a cup each of sugar snap peas, sliced buttons & broccoli. The sauce was semi-bland so I hit it w/ about 1/2 cup of orange juice & a tbp. more of fresh grated ginger....big improvement. Served it over jasmine rice, garnished w/ sliced green onions & toasted sesame seeds. I finished it w/ Pineapple Orange Sorbet (from this site.) & that complemented the dish perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This was delicious and easy to make. I added sliced mushrooms, scallions, and water chestnuts. I also doubled the sauce and added a bit more cornstarch to it. In addition, I threw in some teriyaki sauce and asian hot chili paste for some more flavor - my company loved it. I also used a better cut of meat; I used sirloin, which I thought to be more tender and flavorful. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2000
This is a very easy and delicious chinese stir fry -- perfect for a fast and hearty weekday meal. I added sliced mushrooms, onions and water chestnuts to add some variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
I made this recipe twice. I found that the secret is slicing the meat very thin. The suggestion of marinating the meat also added more flavor. I used sugar snap peas the second time instead of snow peas and thought it also added more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This was WONDERFUL! I liked the cut of beef I used. I liked that I added thinly sliced onion and water chestnuts. I used rice vinegar instead of rice wine (not sure if there's a big difference) but my dish turned out fabulous. Thank you for sharing! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
Quick, easy and excellent! Couldn't find Rice Wine, so used white cooking wine instead. Also used ground ginger, instead of fresh minced ginger root. Came out great. Made a double recipe - No Leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This dish is delicious and so simple to make. My picky meat-eating boyfriend loved it too! I replaced the snow-peas with regular green peas and it was much more enjoyable to eat. I would recommend doubling the sauce ingriedients especially when served over plain white rice...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPIMPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States