Asian Beef with Snow Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
like the others....not sure if the poster meant rice wine or rice wine vinegar....so I put both in to cover my bases! 2 TB rice wine vinegar and 1 Tb of wine. I made it with chicken since that is what I had defrosted/on hand. The previous posters are correct...not enough sauce. Need to make double the sauce amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Delicious recipe. The only problem I had was the sauce didn't thicken. It had a great flavor, though. I definitely will try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
If you add the correct amount of cornstarch or arrow root to the sauce before cooking and mix it in well. then you won't have to wait for the sauce to reduce and thcken. Tthereby, not overcooking the meat and snow peas. Nothing worse than overcooked stir-fry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
We enjoyed this recipe very much. However, you do need to double the amount of sauce. But don't double the amount of ginger or garlic. I also added one red bell pepper sliced in thin strips, one can of baby corn and one can of sliced waterchestnuts. Served over white rice. Thanks Marbalet for posting this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
For those that think the sauce is a little bland, try this variation: I doubled the sauce, you always need more sauce! I used golden mountain sauce as well as soy. I used rice vinegar..I actually don't know what rice wine is, I think the recipe is actually calling for rice wine vinegar. I used palm sugar instead of brown. All these ingredients can be found at your local Asian market. It makes for much better flavor than the usual and doesn't change the original recipe too much. I used bok choy, shallots, red peppers, carrots, celery, green onions as well as the beef (flank steak). You can toss in any veggies that you have. Poured it all over white rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Easy enough, but I didn't think the flavor was very good. Just voicing it since everyone else seemed to like it... maybe it's me, but I was disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Very easy and VERY tasty! I used rice wine vinegar (instead of rice wine) and ginger powder (instead of fresh), and it still turned out good. Also used diet stew meat instead of round steak with no problem. Seems pretty diet friendly - so an extra bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I found this too vinegary. I would cut the vinegar in half. I've made stir frys in a similar fashion... oil, garlic and ginger in pan, add meat, then a little soy sauce and the veggies, cover till veggies are done but still crispy. Didn't use sugar or vinegar and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Nice flavor. I used rice vinegar, which may or may not be the same as rice wine, but the flavor was perfect. I doubled the sauce (perfect for 1 lb. of meat over rice). I also added one 12 oz. bag of frozen Birdseye Steamfresh "Asian Medley" veggies. Cooked them in microwave according to directions and added at the very end prior to serving. Becaue of this addition, I did not double the amount of snow peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
A Korean lady that I worked with 20 years ago made this and it was light, tasty, and quick to prepare. She showed me but never wrote down the recipe. My recreation just never quite stood up until now -- I had left out the small amount of brown sugar and I had used rice wine vinegar instead of rice wine. Mignon also put in some carrots cut in to thin strips using a vegetable peeler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States