Asian Beef Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Dressing recipe gets 45 stars. I have made up a jar of it in the fridge. We did not care for this with the ground beef, but I as inspired by the ingredients to put something else together. I too used Napa Cabbage. I also used shredded carrots and a small bag of Brocolli Slaw mix from the grocery. I shredded a whole head of cabbage, a whole head of iceberg, added 2 large shredded carrots, and the whole bag of brocolli slaw. I put all of this in a huge Tupperware bowl and tossed it. That way it's ready to grab and put in a bowl for dinner or to take in a smaller covered bowl for lunches. Do not add the dressing til you are ready to eat it! I had angel hair pasta, so cooked some of that, ran under cold water and added to the salad at serving time along w/ sliced deli rare roast beef. Also dropped on 1/2 oz sliced almonds and dried cranberries last night for dinner. Having it again tonite with mandarine oranges. IT's AWESOME not to have to cook and this is the first main dish salad that hubby (midwest meat-eater) actually complimented me on. Adding to the regular weekly menue for the summer in Phoenix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
My entire family loves this recipe, which is very rare. The dressing is great and all of the ingredients work well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
A few drops of good quality Asian fish sauce (Thai nam pla, Vietnamese nuoc mam) bring the flavors together to make this recipe even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
We really enjoyed this...my 1.5 & 2.5 year olds gobbled it up! I did cook the shredded carrots a bit once the beef was browned and let the hot beef mixture wilt the cabbage a bit before serving to make it more kid friendly. Will add some broccoli slaw to the mix next time to up the veggie factor. Served with some homemade gyoza. Definitely going into the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
The dressing is great! Switched out the ground beef for barbequed chicken marinaded in the dressing, by doubling the dressing and letting the chicken marinade for 1 hour. Added red pepper for color and extra crunch. Instead of pepper pepper flakes used sciracha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ripon, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
*Giving rating even though I made some changes* Im tired of the same old stuff so I googled pasta and hamburger recipes...ended up choosing this. Made tonight. We couldnt decide if we liked it or not! I did double hamburger, used a whole pound of shells, and doubled sauce. Bought angel hair shredded cabbage(green;no nappa) and pre-grated carrots(cut down on prep). Totally reminded me of the filling in an egg-roll. If I make again I will make sure to drain burger really well; it was a little greasy. Definitely different. Maybe I should have followed to a T?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I will make this again with all kinds of little tweaks! I made this with fresh shredded zucchini in place of cabbage and added some thinly sliced yellow bell pepper which complimented the tang in the dressing. I doubled everything, the mild flavor was so yummy, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I think the dressing deserves 5 stars.....yum! I had some leftover grilled london broil slices I needed to use, so I used that instead of the ground beef (cut into small pieces). I also used a whole pound of pasta. Because of the extra pasta, I had to double the dressing (except I only used 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes). Wow. That dressing is addictive. I think any Asian noodle dish with this dressing would be wonderful. The salad itself is adaptable, I think, although I did enjoy the Napa cabbage, carrot, and green onion mix. Will definitely use this again, maybe with chicken sometime, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I had some ground beef that I wanted to use up when I came across this recipe. I'm glad I did because it was really good! I couldn't find napa cabbage at my local grocery store so I used the pre shredded cole slaw mix. It worked great but when I can find napa, I will try that. Only thing I wasn't sure of was if it was to be served cold or hot. I know, it's a salad but I tried it both ways and liked them both. I will make this again soon! Thx KKH3!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Scrumpymom
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This was great! I followed the recipe exactly, and it was just what I was looking for. We love the classic asian cabbage salad but wanted something along the same lines, but different. This had that tangy fresh crunch of the cabbage, but the beef and pasta gave it a chewy and hearty texture. I used a cole slaw mix for the cabbage and carrot combo, which made the recipe very easy. Great for a summer evening, we will definitely make this again- thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States