Asian Barbequed Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
We marinated the steak for 24 hours and tasted great...just a little salty. It could have been the brand of fish sauce or chili sauce. Next time I'll try marinating it for half a day and see if that may help. ***Update, we make this about every other week and might be one of my husband's favorite dishes. What we do: I use Lee Kum Kee's Chili Garlic Sauce and Orchids Fish Sauce. We marinade it for about 8 hours and tastes best over a charcoal grill. It's a big hit with guests. We won't cook a flanksteak any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I loved this recipe. I always have fish sauce and chili paste in the pantry. I marinated steak with this sauce and grilled it.It was delicious!! It's a keeper. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dlish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I tried this recipe for a Memorial Day party and it was a hit. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. When I was making the marinade I was a little worried about how it was going to taste because the fish sauce is so strong smelling but it wasn't fishy at all. Also, if you are worried about it being too spicy because of the chili sauce don't be, once it is cooked it isn't spicy at all. Thanks for the recipe it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMN1221

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
I was a little skeptical about this recipe, especially with the fish sauce. However, this was one of the most tastey steak marinades. My family absolutely loved it. I marinated 3 flank steaks (6lbs) over night and it turned out perfect! There was nothing left to take home. Which is always a good sign for me! Also with the Chili Sauce,it's not really spicey hot...just a good spice to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
THIS WAS A HIT!!! I WAS A LITTLE SKEPTICAL AT FIRST THAT THIS WOULD HAVE GOOD FLAVOR. BOY WERE WE SURPRISED. MADE AN IMPRESSION ON A FRIEND IN THE MILITARY JUST RETURNING FROM JAPAN. DO NOT CHANGE A THING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARLEY CRUISER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA
Living In: West End, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
Excellent. Nice change to just a regular grilled steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was a great marinade. I used porterhouse steaks from Australia and let them marinate for 48 hours - don't know if it was good steak or the marinade, but they were really tender even though my husband overcooked them a bit on the BBQ (few too many beers while cooking!). The flavour was great too and our guests raved about the steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I used a top sirloin cut to make this, and adjusted the recipe just a bit. I added the juice of half a lime, and then let it sit in the fridge for a few hours. It gives it a slightly tangy taste, and gives it a Thai taste. Very juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
It was a dream come true! I sliced the 2 pound slab of steak into 6 individual steaks. I used a gallon size freezer bag to marinade it in rather than a dish. I didnt have a bbq grill so I used my toaster oven to broil it (3 pieces at a time). 6 min on one side at 8 minutes on the other (it came out medium well). Does not taste fishy at all. The fish sauce is salty so dont add soy sauce or salt until u taste it first. I used normal sesame oil. It was delicous! "Score" means cut a diagonal slice into the steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Thought it would be more spicy with all that chile but it wasn't. Very good done medium rare after a 3.5 day marinade! I took the left over steak and sliced it thinly and they made a beautiful addition to an another asian meal I prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Miso-Glazed Skirt Steak

See how to make a simple miso glaze for grilled steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States