Asian Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I did this just a little different. I scooped out all of the inside that I could, sort of like a twice baked potato. Then I mixed the garlic, ginger, soy sauce and the avocado together and placed it back into the avocado skin. We enjoyed it and so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Sacco

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Awesomely simple and delicious. I found that having the ginger and garlic pieces in there had a bit much bite. So I strained the soy sauce and filled the empty pit, and garnished the minced garlic and ginger at the tip of the avocado in case they wiish to use it for some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
These are addicting and so good for you! Some of my favorite flavors in this recipe and it takes two minutes to make. Trying to lower the husbands bad cholesterol , these make a great snack! 6 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I absolutely love avocado and used to eat it drizzled with just soy sauce but the ginger and garlic add so much more flavor and depth. I doubled the mixture and used low sodium soy as well and found that was the perfect amount for me. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vallynn06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
SO GOOD!! I love avocados and I love the asian flavours, so this was a winning combo! Who would have thought something so simple would be so great?!! Hubby does not care for avocados as I do, but he did enjoy this, the 'sauce' is super yummy. I too, added a small amount of sesame oil as it really complements all of the ingredients in this. I will make these again for sure when I am looking for a quick, satisfying lunch, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
WOW, OH WOW!!! These are absolutely fabulous! I added a splash of sesame oil to the garlic, ginger and low sodium soy sauce. I also added a pinch of sesame seeds too. My husband remarked that it tasted just like the avocado you find in sushi rolls. Trust me, folks, this is really THAT good! I can see this being a staple side dish for most dinners during the summer. I'll be buying avocados from Costco in bulk from now on. Thanks, Josie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
A new topping for my sandwiches! My avocado was getting bad so I had to cut it up/mash it to get rid of the bad spots. Here are the things I did a bit differently . . . 1. Mashed my avocado. 2. Used about 3/4 tsp minced garlic. 3. Didn't have ginger root so I substituted about 1/4-1/2 teaspoonful ground ginger. I would add to taste! 4. I used a bit more than 1 tsp of soy sauce for more flavor but use the LOW SODIUM soy sauce. Mine was a bit too salty. 5. Makes a great spread for sandwiches, vegetables, salads, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I have a surplus of avocados right now and was looking for new ways to eat them. This was interesting and good. I used more garlic and ginger than recommended and I liked it that way. Worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Very good and simple way to eat avocado. I also added a little sesame oil and topped with a few sesame seeds. I'm not usually a fan of avocado on its own, but loved it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Fantastic, made me think of sushi. Don't leave the sauce overnight, it becomes too potent and overpowers the avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks 4 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States