Asian Asparagus Salad with Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
This is a DELICIOUS recipe and so easy! I roasted the asparagus in the oven with a little olive oil and used part sesame oil as some others had suggested. I also cut the spears into about 2" pieces to make it easier to serve at a potluck - not as pretty but worked well. I also toasted the pecans a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
I started making this dish with the intention of preparing it exactly as written. However, after marinating the asparagus overnight, I decided to ad lib the final touches. I tossed the marinated spears onto the grill at the last moment. After plating the beautifully grilled spears, I added the green onion, and sprinkled them with slivered almonds that had been toasted in the oven. THEY WERE DELICIOUS!! I will make this dish again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
Absolutely excellent recipe. I do not normally even particularly like asparagus, but this recipe was a tremendous hit with both me and my family. My parents both loved it...in fact, my dad raved about it for the entire weekend. I only marinated it for a couple of hours, and it still was divine. The next day, I'd left it in the bag with the marinade, and it was even better. Will be making this recipe again and again--a permanent favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This is a fabulous dish to take to picnics or any summer gathering, actually anytime of year it is Great and easy easy! ( I use splenda,low sodium soy and roast the pecans)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENI HINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This was OK but not anything that made me go "wow!" I think my problem was my asparagus wasn't as fresh as I would have liked and that imparted a bitter taste. I am going to try it again using fresh asparagus and sesame oil instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
My guests and I did not care for this recipe. I felt that the soy sauce flavor overpowered the dish (I followed the recipe exactly). I liked the idea of a cold, marinated, crisp asparagus dish, but this did not do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
This is a wonderful salad/vegetable. I took it to a party last night and it was eaten with many raves. This morning I had to send the recipe to everyone attending. I did substitute l tablespoon sesame oil for 1 of the vegetable oil and added the sesame seeds as someone suggested. It was wonderful and so easy. You just need to plan ahead to marinate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
i just made the asparagus, i didn't add the onions or the pecans, but we did not like this. maybe it's because of how long it was marinated? maybe i will make again, but only use dressing at the time i serve it & will definitely toast pecans or cashews and add green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
This was delicious!!! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This is very quick and easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States