Asian-American Slaw With Peanuts and Jalapenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Good recipe but if you think it's too salty buy the low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Really, REALLY yummy! I used a bag of coleslaw mix (yes, I'm lazy), and green onions in place of the regular. Oh, also, I microplaned the ginger, and just combined it in w/ the dressing ingredients. LOVED the different textures and the bit of heat from the jalapeno. Great flavor...I will def be making this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I didn't have jalapeño so I used sambal garlic chili. I also used smooth peanut butter, since that is what I have on hand. A great way to use cabbage and low fat. Oh if you have regular spy sauce, it might get too salty, so add half and then more to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
The flavor was excellent. Don't skimp on the sugar, it needs it. When I first tossed the slaw with the dressing I tasted it and it was out of this world delicious. Then I let it sit for an hour as the recipe called for and ended up with asian slaw soup. It was a sloppy, soggy mess that was not very appetizing. If I make this again and I probably will I will serve it right after I combine everything. UPDATE: I made this again last night and realized what probably went wrong for me. Last time I made this I julienned all the vegies and probably dressed the salad too much. This time I coarsley chopped everything and watched the amount of dressing I used and no more soupy slaw! I even let it sit for about 30 minutes and it was perfect. Tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I only want to eat coleslaw now. Been looking for a tasty vegetable snack. I think this is it. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is my favorite salad! Love the nuts, the ginger, the spice from jalapenos; it's all a great combo of flavors. I add cilantro before serving it. I have made it without lime juice (I was out and used grapefruit juice) and with jarred ginger (works perfectly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is a super bold tssting coleslaw and welcome change to mayonaise based coleslaw which I think is okay but not great. I followed the recipe as written and it hits all the sweet savory tart and spicy notes that makes you go back for more. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly EXCEPT I used creamy peanut butter (I didn't have crunchy on hand) and I halved the amount of regular soy sauce used (if it was low-sodium I would have used the entire amount requested). I also used part sesame oil and part olive oil (as the sesame oil was super strong). I took this coleslaw to a beach picnic and received rave reviews! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This was absolutely delicious!!! My only change was swapping out 1/2 the cabbage for broccoli slaw and cashews instead of peanuts. I made a big batch and ate on it for 3 days, it held up well in the fridge. Along with the salad, I made the Firecracker Grilled Salmon from this site. Excellent pairing, a favorite meal at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This recipe is delicious! I substituted coleslaw mix. I only had creamy peanut butter on hand, so I used that. Don't be worried about the amount and consistency of the dressing if it looks like there's not enough or it's kind of thick looking. That is exactly what mine was like and it covered the cabbage perfectly. Excellent mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

All about Jalapenos

Meet the pepper that brings the heat to so many delicious dishes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States