Asiago Sun-Dried Tomato Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
As written, this recipe is quite bland, but with a few easy adjustments, it became an AMAZING side dish that got (muffled, from a full mouth)incredibly good feedback from the boyfriend. I used 1/2 2% milk and 1/2 cream, but almost a 1/3 cup of grated asiago, and it was perfect and creamy. Also, skipped the butter and just threw the garlic and onion in at the beginning of rendering the bacon. I left out the chicken, as that was my main dish, but cut the bacon into larger chunks and it was great! Also doubled the garlic amount, and added salt, pepper, cayenne, and red pepper flakes to liven it up a bit. At the end of sauteing the veggies i threw in about 8 oz sliced fresh mushrooms, and it was phenomonal!! Tossed the cooked pasta with fresh chopped parsley, olive oil, pepper, and a little parmasan and served with Mushroom and Swiss Chicken (see review)...I thought my boy was gonna fall to his knees and start to sob from sheer appreciation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This is a fabulous recipe, especially if you follow some of the other suggestions in the reviews. Definitely use the 1 cup of asiago cheese for the real flavor of the cheese. I also substituted 2% milk for one of the two first cups of cream. I could have done without the sundried tomatoes. I realized too late that they should have gone in first thing so they could soften up and provide the flavor they were supposed to. I also used about 1/4 cup of chives in place of the green onion for color and for a less pungent onion flavor, the red onion provides plenty of that. A fabulous recipe, well worth the effort! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karie Maurer-Enneking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Made a few minor changes and thoroughly enjoyed this dish. Changes: Did not use bacon Used half milk, half cream Used olive oil for veggies, added a bit of butter for taste Doubled garlic Used 3/4 c asiago Added 1/4 cup chardonnay with initial cream and tomatoes Soaked sun-dried tomatoes ahead of time and simmered sauce after tomatoes went in on really low heat for about 15 minutes. Had to add a bit more milk. I think simmering the sauce with the soaked tomatoes really helped their flavor dispense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
I didn't have asaigo cheese, so I used parmesan. I also traded out the heavy whipped cream with milk and butter (1 cup heavy cream = 3/4 milk + 1/3 cup butter) to lighten it. This is a wonderful recipe! Very delicious! Thanks Michelle! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Wow, delicious! In reference to previous reviews that complained of the tomatoes being too dry, I would recommend either buying the sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil, or re-hydrating the dry kind by immersing them in a little olive oil and water and microwaving for 30-40 seconds. Drain them, and add them at the same time as the asiago and bouillon. I only made a few slight modifications. The heavy cream is really not necessary, I used 2% for the first part, and 10% for the second and the sauce came out plenty rich! Also, if you're a garlic fan, double what the recipe recommends. I used about 1/3 of a cup of Asiago, as someone had recommended, but found it a bit too salty. I will use a little less next time, or omit the bacon. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
G-O-U-R-M-E-T!!! This was delicious! I could have drank the asiago cream sauce by the glass for starters. I made a few changes & it was perfect. I'll be making this for company soon. I added basil, freshly ground pepper & extra cheese to the sauce. I used much less than 1 cup of sun-dried tomatoes. I wasn't sure if I liked them or not so didn't want a bunch. I probably used 1/3 cup & it was perfect. I also omitted the red onion since I don't like cooked red onions and used 8 ozs of fresh mushrooms sliced instead. YUM! The last cup of heavy cream I switched to 1 cup 1% milk. I never need to eat out again. This is better than anything at Olive Garden--seriously! Everyone at my house loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKANDDEEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
This recipe was great, just like something you'd get at a resturaunt! I took the advice of increasing the cheese (I used about 3/4 cup) and I decreased the onion (boyfriend is not too fond of them, I used 1/2 cup each of green and red and still was a bit much). I would half the recipe if not making it for a group of people next time. Since there is only two of us we had lots of leftovers, which wouldn't usually be a problem since we try to take leftovers for lunch the next day. When reheating, the sauce breaks and becomes very greasy! Otherwise, it was great and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This is my absolute favorite meal EVER!!! I would give it 10 stars if I could. I did make a few changes though. First, you must add more cheese, I use about a cup. Second, I use chicken tenders and marinate them in Italian dressing (at least) overnight. Finally, I skip the green onion. I love green onion, but found them to be quite overpowering in this dish. I have made this numerous times and have even taken it to a pot luck dinner. I left with an empty dish and everyone left with the recipe! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWN316

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
DELICIOUS! I didn't want this to be too dense so I used half and half in place of the heavy cream and increased the Asiago to 3/4 c. I followed another reviewers suggestion to add the sundried tomotoes from the start to allow them to soften up, so glad I did. Other than that, I didn't have a red onion on hand so I used shallots and sauted that in 2 tblsp of olive oil rather than butter. I also threw in about 1/2 c. of pine nuts w/ the garlic and shallots, omitted green onions and used 1/4 c. chopped fresh basil. I used Penne pasta and toppped w/ parsley and feta cheese. My new favorite dish! Thank you so much Michelle, for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
My 3 and 6 year olds loved it! It was full of flavor and great with salad. I softened the sundried tomatoes by boiling them for about 5min. before I added them to the cream sauce. I love garlic, so I added a little more than called for and eased up on the onion. I also omitted the bacon and used about 1 cup of cheese. This dish is definfelty a keeper. Right up there with restaurant dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States