Asiago Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
For years I have made a hashbrown casserole with cheddar cheese and cream of chicken soup. This is a kicked up - grown up - gotta have more version. The flavor of the Asiago cheese is so strong and it where it gets crispy on the edges you will think you have expired from the pleasure. I made for dinner with steaks. If I were serving to guests though I think I would like to make them in individual dishes. They don't look very pretty when you lump them on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
Pretty good stuff. I added my usual onion and garlic powders and also more cheese on top. Next time I may even throw on some bread crumbs. Thanks Linzi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
The flavor of this was very good, but it was a little too mushy for our tastes. I was trying to think of a way around that, but unless you put them in small shallow bowls to cook it I think it would turn out the same way. It was also very rich ~ not something to make on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
Very tasty! An excellent variation of the Cheesy Hashbrown recipe that we've all grown tired of. I made it with the shredded hash browns, but you could probably use the "southern style" cubed potatoes if you prefer. I plan to serve this with Pork BBQ sandwiches at my son's 1st birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
I agree, this is a definite step up from the "canned cream of..." version, and quicker than au gratin potatoes from scratch. Very tasty. My only change was to precook the onions in a little butter before adding, I prefer a mellower flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I loved the Asiago flavor in this side dish, but mine turned out alittle bit dry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
This was a tasty dish! The only thing I would do different is saute the onions before mixing in with the rest of the ingredients. The crunchiness of the onion didn't mix well with the softer potatoes. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Fantastic. The asiago cheese just made this the best potato dish I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Very dry. I highly recommend using much more butter and sour cream. The asiago cheese is very costly. This works just as well with romano and parmasen mixed. If altered, this can be a great recipe, just keep in mind to be a litlle "heavy" on the butter and sour cream. For a quick trick, use chicken stock to add a little more "juice" to this recipe. Its low in carbs, inexpensive, adds flavor, and most likley you have this in your cabinet already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Very good, asiago cheese is pricey, but a change was nice. I will probably sautee the onions next time, they were too crispy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States