Asiago Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
quite tasty, but asiago cheese might be a bit too strong... maybe mix asiago with a mozzarella or maybe a Gouda?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
These hash browns are delicious! Simple to put together and very rich! I followed the recipe and they turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
It was good, but the Asiago cheese didn't make it that much better to be worth the extra expense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I have made this recipe for years only with a few changes: I use cheddar cheese although the Asiago sounds even better, I don't use the heavy cream or paprika, but best of all -- I add chopped green chilies to spice it up. Everybody asks me for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I really wanted to like this because I love hash browns but it was just really bland and dry, no flavor whatsoever. So disappointed :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I like this recipe but I did change it a little. First I combined the grated cheese and chopped onion with the potatoes. I used a 4 cheese grated blend that I get from TJ's that has Asiago cheese in it. Then I mixed the sour cream, heavy cream and butter together before I folded it into the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: San Gabriel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I don't know why this recipe isn't a 5-star recipe, it sure deserves to be! We loved this and this is the only hash brown casserole recipe I will make from now on (who needs cream of chicken soup?)! I did have to lighten up the recipe a bit - I used only 1/4 cup butter, half&half instead of heavy cream, and light sour cream. Instead of white onion, I used a bunch of green onions for color. The only asiago cheese I found at my store was a package of shredded asiago/parmesan blend. It was perfect! The ONLY think wrong with this recipe, as far as I can see, is that it says to season with salt and pepper after it's done baking. I would highly recommend seasoning the mixture before it goes in the oven. I stirred in 1/2 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. fresh ground black pepper. They were not bland or greasy at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was excellent. My frozen hash browns came in a 20 ounce bag, and I didn't measure exactly, but 5 ounces (by weight) of shredded asiago cheese was fine. It lacks color--next time I might add some snipped chives or green onions. Asiago gives it a sophistocated, adult taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I wanted to make this a little more kid friendly so I used cheddar instead of asiago. It turned out wonderful and we ate it for breakfast with scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I thought this recipe was great...made it for a brunch and everyone loved it. I did make some changes, I used a 6 cheese Italian blend (including mozzarella, asiago, parmesan, romano, etc). I also had some fresh thyme and parsley and chopped that up in the mixture before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaclyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States