Ashley's Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ashleynicole
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I was young when I submitted this, and totally submitte it wrong. and then I couldnt remember my old login password to change it but finally allrecipes changed it so now its perfect as written. My old review on this used to say "add 1/2 t baking soda" because i had forgotten to include it when i 1st submitted this recipe but once again allrecipes finally made the change so this recipe is now perfect as written. so dont change anything!!! However, Sometimes I do crisco instead of butter. but either way its good. This has been my favorite recipe since I was 14. Ive tried other ones, but always go back to this one. My friends all love it too, and they only use this recipe. I always underbake my cookies and then freeze them; that way they never get hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
Congratulations, Ashley! You've just passed our resident gourment taste tester. My 24 year old son gave you a 9 1/2 out of ten the first day these were baked and said the remaining 1/2 will be granted when they pass the freshness test in a couple of days. Well, they did. The dough is excellent to work with. I like a dough that I can roll into balls without messy hands. They stayed high after cooling, were chewy and chokeful of chocolate chips. I think the problem some had with inconsistency is because the dry ingredients have to be added in gradually as per instructions so that the baking powder will be well-distributed throughout the dough. After trying tens of recipes this is the one I'll keep. Thanks, Ashley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
Too much flour. Way too dry. Won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Yummy! These cookies turned out great!! They stayed soft and they had awesome flavor!! We loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
These were amazing cookies. However, I can't make them again, because my family ate the whole batch in one day (12 hours) :).... they were soooo awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
We chose this recipe mainly because it was the only choco chip cookie recipe with only one egg (which we had one of)...used 1 1/2 cups chips and 1/2 cup walnuts chopped the same size as the chocolate... delicious! Our new favorite simple cookie formula!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
Really easy recipe that tasted great! My husband thought they were a little cake like, Oh well more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
12/21/10 At the submitter's request, the editorial staff added baking soda to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I have been looking for the "perfect" Chocolate Chip recipe for 20 years. I used the toll house recipe and hated the results. When I found Ashley's recipe and tried it, I fell in love. This is how I always wanted my chocolate chip cookies to taste like. I take them everywhere and make them at least once a week for my family. My daughters name is Ashley and people ask me for this recipe and I tell them its Ashley's Chocolate chip recipe, they say your daughter and I laugh and say, no, I got the recipe on the net from another terrific Ashley. Thanks a million! The cookies are out of this world!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Kansas, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
Excellent! Quick & easy. I used semisweet chips because that's all I had but they were still amazing. The kids ate the whole batch in a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States