Ashley's Chicken Katsu with Tonkatsu Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Oh my goodness. This was soooo good. Reminded us of living in japan. Sauce was perfect too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCSEWLADY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I was trying for the first time and bc of being unsure I didn't want to over cook, just 2 of us and left overs rarely get eaten. I regret not making more though, this is an extremely good recipe... thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I have made this several times and each time I have made this everybody has been more than satisfied. Personally I quite enjoy the sauce but I know that it can be a bit strong and it is not for everyone. All in all a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
The sauce ingredients are backwards. Do ½ cup of ketchup and ¼ cup of Worcestershire and you'll be good to go. I did add a bit of hoisin to mine. My mom made a somewhat spicy Asian honey mustard sauce to go with hers. Chicken turned out great and would get five stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capnquackenbush

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHENA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was a wonderful recipe! Easy to do. I didnt have panko crumbs and used plain fine crumbs. It was a hit!! I made the tonkatsu sauce and it was perfect with the dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This chicken was FANTASTIC! I used a shallow pan with oil for frying. The Panko bread crumbs make all the difference. If I had known that years ago I wouldn't have kept substituting normal bread crumbs. I could kick myself. I didn't use the sauce as my 16 year old son is extremely picky about his food. However he said that this chicken was better than the Japanese restuarant. So thank you for sharing as this is going to save me $15.00 a week on his take-out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Pretty decent recipe. My boyfriend is korean and he loved it. The sauce is a little off so I made some changes. I'm a college student so it's difficult to cook on a regular basis. This recipe was easy and quick to do. The sauce was too tangy and needed some sweetness. I didn't have sugar on hand so I used maple syrup. I cut back on the w sauce and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hamahama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
The chicken and this sauce are delicious!! I didn't fry the chicken in a deep fryer just a pan with the bottom full of oil. Kids love this too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I think this chicken tastes better with sweet and sour sauce. With that in mind I am only rating the chicken with a 5 star since my picky eating family really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States