Ashley's African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I think I'm just not a huge fan of african food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bestaver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Made it as close to recipe as possible. I used a sweet onion and did not measure the sweet potato or carrots because I wanted lots of veggies. I reduced it to 10 servings and cooked it 10 hrs on slow. I found that the brown rice was not cooked only adding it for the last 3 hrs of the cooking time so next time I will add it about halfway. If I had cooked it on high maybe the 3 hrs would have been enough. Absolutely delicious and better on day two. I added about an additional cup of broth at the end of the cooking time. This makes a very substantial soup (very thick). I would estimate that I did get 10 servings approx. 1 cup each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Pretty good soup. I took other reviewers' advice and doubled the spices (which was a really good idea). This soup just gets better and better every day after it's made. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I've made this three times and my co workers love it. I substituted tofu for chicken and used a vegetable based stock. This recipe is easy. And lasts the week. It freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I loved this soup until I added the 1 cup of peanut butter. It was too much for my taste. I will make it again but, I will start with a small amount of peanut butter (1/4 cup) and add more to taste if needed. The other spices are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This soup is really delicious! Tons of veggies, and great flavor. Picky boyfriend didn't care for it (said it was too healthy, and probably a little too exotic for him), but that just means there's more for me! I only used 1 C of carrots, 1 red bell pepper, increased broth to about 7 cups, and decreased peanut butter to one half cup. I also didn't include the rice - this soup is so thick and chunky, it's not needed at all. Served with cornbread, and I can't wait for the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
My brother thought this soup was amazing and basically ate all of it over the course of the week. Other people in my family didn't like it at all. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Made this a few days ago and made some edits per other people's suggestions and my own preferences: halved the recipe, doubled the spices, omitted cayenne (because I have a young child), used Quinoa instead of rice. We still found the flavor a little bland, which I could not believe given the additional spices I used PLUS having cut the recipe in 1/2 which means quadrouple strength of the spices. As with most soup recipes it got better and better as a left-over with yesterday's left-over being extremely yummy! That being said, I still think the recipe is missing that one extra something and if you can just figure out what that something is . . . WOW it's going to be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Love! Delicious, filling, and easy. Can't ask for better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Loved this and it freezes well. I halved the recipe, but increased the spices some from the halved version since I like spicy food. I thought it was great-Like some of the other reviewers I did not add the rice but used the soup on top or even noodles work well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States