Ash-e-jow (Iranian/Persian Barley Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
My best friend is Persian, and I love the rich flavour of Persian food. This soup is great and full of flavour. I've always tried to make Persian food myself, but whenever I've tried it doesn't taste the same as my best friend's mom. This is the closest I've gotten so far! Excellent recipe and really easy. Update: I've since made this dish countless times and it is definitely Persian approved! I do things slightly differently though. When I saute the onions I add the tumeric. I definitely add more then a teaspoon of tumeric. I keep adding pinches until the onions are a bright yellow-orange. I also add saffron, which makes this dish more authentic. I take a few saffron stems and mix them with about a 1/2 teaspoon of hot water so it becomes a liquid, and I add it in the beginning to the onions. I also add the finely diced carrots when I add the barley, because I find it takes a while for the carrots to cook in this recipe. Fresh parsley is also a must, and I probablly add at least a cup of it finely chopped. And finally this recipe makes the barley into a thick stew, and it isn't really like a soup texture. If you want to to be soupy add more broth and decrease the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I would have to admit that the soup was interesting, and I ate the whole bowl, but I didn't want seconds and I can't imagine I will have any more of it. It just had a flavor I wasn't used to, and I didn't like the taste of the parsley. Sorry if I offended anyone! Just not my bowl of soup...so to speak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was amazing. Very easy and everyone loved it. The lime really topped it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
this was good but it was not for us, it was very thick and creamy but it seemed like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
So good! I sub'd a pinch of saffron threads for the turmeric. Plus added a can of garbanzo beans at the end. I found the barley and carrots needed a good 20 min less to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Made recipe for six; these were generous portions so had I made the recipe for just two people, I think one bowl each woud have sufficed (with a side dish or bread). Using the recipe for six, I added a quarter teaspoon more turmeric. I also used low sodium soup AND added some salt as I went along--however, this soup seems to need a lot more salt than it had in order to make it as flavorful as I would have liked. I also used low fat sour cream. Maybe because of the low fat cream and low sodium soup it didn't have as much "oomph" as I was hoping for, or maybe it's just supposed to be subtle in taste. However, my husband really liked it. Next time I will put the carrots in along with the barley (although the soup cooked for about 1 1/2 hours the carrots were still a little hard), and my husband also suggested adding some celery for additional flavor, texture and color. This is a good, hearty winter soup, not the best I've ever had, but quite decent. Make sure you squeeze on the fresh lime from the lime wedges before you eat the soup--to me it really was THE necessary finishing touch for this soup in terms of flavor, although my husband thought the soup was good enough to stand on its own. I served this soup with a corn bread loaf, recipe for which I found on this site, and the soup and loaf were definitely a complete and satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I never do these online review things, but I had to say how much I loved this soup! The ingredients are so simple, but somehow it's more than the some of its parts--it has a rich, subtle, slightly elusive taste that even my 8-year-old loved. The only changes that I made were to add some saffron (a good pinch) to the broth while it was heating, and I added chopped fresh dill at the end along with the parsley. And the sour cream works great, but you can also substitute creme fraiche--and in that case, it doesn't need to be tempered when you add it to the soup, you can just stir it in; it won't separate. I'm so glad to have this as part of my "repertoire"! I plan on making it a LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Delicious, filling, healthy, and nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Piva

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and it was very tasty! I was looking for something different to do with some barley that I had and this worked out great, although I don't think I would want it all the time. I think next time I might try using saffron as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This was delicious! I don't know why I'm surprised - Persian food is always great - but wow! I would absolutely make this again! And it's perfect for a summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States