Ash-e-jow (Iranian/Persian Barley Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
this soup was perfect! i loove lemon/lime in my soup, plus the barley and carrots. i didn't change a thing and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tarrastarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dobbs Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Different but very good. I did add some red lentils and extra parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was a really great recipe with a nice unique flavor and a very satisfying texture. I substituted Greek yogurt for sour cream and cilantro for parsley. Also, I browned the oninons with the tumeric. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and was really pleased. The only change I will try next time is to wait 5-10 minutes after removing the soup from the heat before adding the yogurt (I added it immediately afterwards and it curdled just a bit). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
lovely, easy vegetarian recipe. I subbed veg. broth for chicken and added gardlic and about triple the tumeric. lots of salt and pepper. so good and satisfying and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Very hearty soup! The only change I made was to use a creme fraiche sub (sour cream/cream cheese). I also sauteed my onions with turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I decided to substitute the sour cream for plain yogurt and I did not like the result. The soup was way too sour and seemed to be missing something. Don't think I'll make it again, even with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caley022
Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Great soup. The lime juice you add really pulls this dish together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Wonderful soup, layered and quite flavorful. I had no expectations so I am very pleasantly surprised by this rich and tasty soup. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This soup was a nice change of pace. The pearl barley is a great texture and the thickness of the soup made it feel very rich and filling. The flavor was that of lime, tomato and a bit of the ethnic flavor you get with turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Autumn Leaves
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Sometimes I add chunks of cooked chicken breast to it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Leaves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States