Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Great recipe! The artichokes I bought were a bit big, so they did cook for 45 min. and maybe could've used 5 more min. But they were very tasty! Next time I will add garlic to the butter dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Luckily I read all the other reviews before I tried this. I filled a large saucepan about halfway full and when I took the artichokes out, there was just enough water left to cover the bottom.I don't know what Shai was thinking by saying we needed only enough water to cover the bottom of the pan! But putting the garlic and the butter actually IN the artichokes while they steamed was a great idea! they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
My dad and I love this and my mom who hate artichokes. Tried it and even said it was OK. From now on this is the way I'm going to cook artichokes .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Great idea for artichokes. To make sure my large artichokes cookly completely, I cut them in half and placed them in the steamer insert cut-side down. It's easier to remove the "choke" from them prior to serving this way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
My nephew loves them. But you have to have mayo as a dip as well as meltedbutter, it compliments the flavor 10 fold! Just a tiny dip in the mayo, then in the butter! YUMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
We love these! I bought two very large, very large as in bigger than shot-put ball sized artichokes (what a find), hence the cooking time was a bit longer. Because they were so big & didn't fit into my regular steamer, I ended up simmerimg them in 1/2 pot of water with butter, garlic & dry minced onion added. They turned out great, thanks Shai!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Oh the weather outside is certainly frightful! It looks like a blizzard out there. While I'm anxiously awaiting for my little chickens to arrive home early from school today, I decided to catch up on my reviews. These artichokes rock! My kids BEG me to buy them and believe it or not, they'll make a meal out of them. The only additional thing I do, is melt butter and add garlic powder so the kids can dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
This is a perfect way to make articokes, but my family loves to make the dipping sauce with mayo, mix in fresh garlic,(crushed),and lots of pepper, even the 7 year old loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I so enjoy artichokes!! I like to place them stem-side down in a big pot (after cutting the stems flush with the bottom), add a can of chicken broth plus enough water to rise half way up the 'choke. Cook about an hour for the most tender of leaves! For the sauce I simply use Hidden Valley Ranch salad dressing..."BLT" flavor. Talk about GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
These were delicous! I made them for company who had never even herd of artichokes and they loved them. Makes a great side dish to chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States