Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
The best way to clean chokes is set them in the sink & cover with cold water for a 30 mins or so. Then take a shape knife & cut the stem back with an even cut so that they can stand upright in your pot or steamer without falling. After you cut the stem off, take kitchen shears & go around each choke & snip the tips of each leaf to remove the tiny stickers at the tops of each leaf. Run back under cold water again & now you can safely spread the leafs back some without getting pricked! Pull the center back & reach in with the tips of your fingers & pull out all of the little tiny purple leafs that are near the heart in the very center, they are too small to eat so remove them now to avoid a mess while eating them later. With the centers cleaned before cooking gives you an area to insert a fork into the heart to check for doneness, (beware of steam) when it goes in without any effort then they are done. I set them on a paper plate or some paper towels to cool some & this also helps remove any excess moisture so you don't end up with a puddle on your dinner plate. Artichokes are a little involved to clean & cook, so I now clean & cook four at a time & stick them in a big zip lock until we are ready to eat them. They last for quite a few days with no problem in the frig. I then set each artichoke in microwave proof (cereal size) bowl and nuke them for a minute or two to knock the chill off right before we are ready to eat them. Although these things taste excellent cold too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Yummm, artichokes have been my favorite veggie since I was a kid. I'll never make them any other way again. My one suggestion though, is to melt the butter and pour over the chokes and garlic because it's too easy to get a nasty poke from the leaves if you try to rub in butter. I used about 5 cloves of sliced garlic for 2 large chokes. I put them on a steamer rack and filled with water to the bottom of the steamer and had no problem with running out of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This was a great starting point-I literally slathered the artichokes with butter and (minced)garlic instead of putting between the leaves, and I took the suggestion about using lemon-I laid a lemon slice over each one. I filled the pot with water to the bottom of my steamer insert and did not have to add any water while they were cooking. I also added a chicken bouillon cube to the water along with 1 teaspoon of my favorite "Trader Joe's Pasta seasoning blend". Because my 'chokes were big-I extended the cooking time to 1 hour. I let them sit in the covered pan for about 15 minutes prior to serving, and they were PERFECT. I served these with a lowfat mayo and fresh basil pesto I mixed together-my family asked for them the very next night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
These were delicous! I made them for company who had never even herd of artichokes and they loved them. Makes a great side dish to chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
this was my first time making artichokes of any kind.. and i think nit's just that i had no idea what i was doing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This was amazing. I have been making stuffed artichokes for a while now and this tastes SO MUCH BETTER. Very simple and easy to do. I do cut the choke in half to make it easier to serve later. I also served it with a garlic butter. Delicious. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHITNEYB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
Steaming makes these the perfect texture. Like others, I added plenty of water (the water level was flush with the bottom of the steamer). In addition to slathering the artichokes with butter and garlic before steaming (great idea!), I also added slices of lemon and minced garlic to the water. I steamed them for 45 minutes and made two sauces to dip the leaves in--one with butter, garlic and lemon, the other with mayo, a little bit of balsamic vinaigrette and pepper. My husband loved these and so did I! Will definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
463 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
We really liked this recipe. The artichokes I used were fairly big and look about 35-40 minutes to be tender. The last time I made artichokes, I boiled them. What a difference in taste with steaming them!! Yum!! I'll definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARLA10

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States