Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I have LOVED artichokes since I was little and this is how I have always had them....except I use olive oil instead of butter. I trim the artichokes (so they aren't prickly) and put them in a steamer basket. Drizzle some olive oil, salt, pepper, and a little Parmesan cheese...Delish! And healthy. My favorite part is the heart...but make sure you don't eat the hairy part!!! Oh, I have to add....picking a good artichoke makes a HUGE difference. They should be heavy for their size and look "full" and round. Not skimpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I don't know if we just had an old artichoke or something, but my family and I weren't too fond of this. Thanks anyway for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I don't have a steamer basket, so I put extra water in the pan. I used minced garlic and added some lemon juice to the water as well. Mine also had to cook for about double the amount of time before the leaves pulled off easily and the fleshy part was soft enough. Very tasty with the butter and garlic. I usually only use lemon juice. Thank you for a new way to steam artichokes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Don't cut the stems off!! Peel it like a carrot, trim off about a 1/2 inch off the stem only. The stem is so good, it's just like the heart of the choke without all the work to get to! Also when cleaning, put the cleaned artichoke in a bowl of water with a squeeze of lemon while preparing, this will keep it from turning color. I always serve my artichokes with mayo and sun dried tomatoes mixed in, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbsBerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Capitola, California, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I just put mine right in the water with a T of veg. oil to soften them and 1T lemon juice. I left about 2 inches of the stem on because it is good to eat. Mine were large so I had to simmer around 30 minutes. I also put the garlic slices in the water not inside the artichokes because I thought it may be too strong for my boys. Good with mayonniase on the side! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
These were okay, beforehand we were really used to artichokes with just butter. I thought it had too much salt and pepper and I would mince the garlic instead. Perhaps next time I'll simply try Garlic Salt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I just put all the seasonings in the water (or sometimes I'll use chicken broth) with a little olive oil, garlic and onion powder, a bay leaf, lemon juice, a little parsley, a splash of white wine, and then steam them. I love dipping them in blue cheese dressing. Yum! My husband doensn't like to eat vegetables but he loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Not crazy about this recipe. Artichokes were tough, not tender what so ever. I had to cook it longer and it still was woody. Will not make it again. I prefer cooking artichokes in a pot of boiling water/olive oil/garlic cloves & lemon slices, it's easy and makes a really tender, tasty artichoke. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Streetsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Living in California we eat artichokes all year - they are absolutely our favorite. So, I've tried many different ways for cooking them, and the most favorite is roasting on the grill (that's another recipe altogether). I also experimented and during the steaming process, in addition to the seasonings in the water, I pour some balsamic vinaigrette dressing over the artichokes before cooking (making sure that there is a bit of olive oil added) - the aroma while cooking and the flavor while eating cannot be beat. I'm not a big butter fan, so didn't try that. Another option for dipping sauce is to add some curry to your mayonnaise. I know, it's a California thing.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
My sis in law makes a mixture of melted butter, breadcrumbs, seasonings of your choice, such as italian, lots of fresh parsley, grated paremesan and mozarella cheese and shoves it into the openings of the leaves, all of this done after they are steamed, then pops them into the oven for a little browning of the breadcrumbs. It's like a little taste of heaven. Always makes them for our special family get togethers. Steam the day before to cut back on time. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States