Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This seems to be way too short a time for cooking the artichoke enough to get the most cooked flesh from it. I agree with a previous review to cook them about 45 minutes. However, I suggest that if you have a pressure cooker, to cook it in that for about 10 minutes. I have been cooking them in a pressure cooker for many years & they turn out very tender & delicious. Thanks for the tip about the garlic in between the leaves. That makes it even tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
20 minutes is not even close to long enough, I fill the pot with 1 inch of water and put a lemon slice on each Artichoke " do not add salt,it draws the juices out" Place the Artichokes, stems trimed closely stem side down in the pot,cover and bring the water to a boil,turn down heat to simmer for about one hour. you will have perfect Artichokes. dip in garlic mayo or just plain olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Love These - I've been trying to cut down on butter, so I'm eating them plain, right out of the steamer, with a dash of lemon. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Sokolinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Please use more water to steam, as some others said you will run dry and possibly burn your pot. And it did take at least 45 minutes to steam. I serve mine with a delicious dip made of equal parts of mayo and parmesan cheese. Then just pluck the leaves off, dip and scrape the flesh off with your teeth. Discard remaining leaf. Mmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SingnDance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I grew up on stuffed artichokes. We steamed them in just enough water to cover the base "heart" of the artichoke and they are usually tender after 20 mins. We stuff the leaves with a mixture of seasoned breadcrumbs, parmesan cheese and either chopped fresh garlic or garlic powder (can add a bit of olive oil or butter to the mix if you wish). After steaming, pull off the leaves and enjoy the stuffing with the tender base of the leaves. When all leaves have been eaten, cut off the base (heart), clean off the purple fine strings, and enjoy the tender artichoke heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Yum. Definitely make a dip to eat with these artichokes. As far as the level of water goes, use maybe 1.5 inches (in height) of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Best tasting artichokes that I have ever prepared. We loved it so much that I went out the next day and bought 2 more to have for lunch. Putting the butter and garlic behind the leaves made such a difference. Thank you Shai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
great recipe! A favorite of ours in the summer. I use tartar sauce for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This recipe mimics exactly my favorite way of eating them... I've used this for years, but appreciate the tips listed from other reviewers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Our favorite local Italian restaurant makes the best artichokes and these ended up very similar to them. I stuffed with minced garlic, butter, some olive oil and Parmesan cheese. After they were done, I added more Parmesan, bread crumbs and a little salt and pepper. They were great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States