Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Best tasting artichokes that I have ever prepared. We loved it so much that I went out the next day and bought 2 more to have for lunch. Putting the butter and garlic behind the leaves made such a difference. Thank you Shai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
great recipe! A favorite of ours in the summer. I use tartar sauce for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This recipe mimics exactly my favorite way of eating them... I've used this for years, but appreciate the tips listed from other reviewers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Our favorite local Italian restaurant makes the best artichokes and these ended up very similar to them. I stuffed with minced garlic, butter, some olive oil and Parmesan cheese. After they were done, I added more Parmesan, bread crumbs and a little salt and pepper. They were great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I have LOVED artichokes since I was little and this is how I have always had them....except I use olive oil instead of butter. I trim the artichokes (so they aren't prickly) and put them in a steamer basket. Drizzle some olive oil, salt, pepper, and a little Parmesan cheese...Delish! And healthy. My favorite part is the heart...but make sure you don't eat the hairy part!!! Oh, I have to add....picking a good artichoke makes a HUGE difference. They should be heavy for their size and look "full" and round. Not skimpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I don't know if we just had an old artichoke or something, but my family and I weren't too fond of this. Thanks anyway for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I don't have a steamer basket, so I put extra water in the pan. I used minced garlic and added some lemon juice to the water as well. Mine also had to cook for about double the amount of time before the leaves pulled off easily and the fleshy part was soft enough. Very tasty with the butter and garlic. I usually only use lemon juice. Thank you for a new way to steam artichokes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Don't cut the stems off!! Peel it like a carrot, trim off about a 1/2 inch off the stem only. The stem is so good, it's just like the heart of the choke without all the work to get to! Also when cleaning, put the cleaned artichoke in a bowl of water with a squeeze of lemon while preparing, this will keep it from turning color. I always serve my artichokes with mayo and sun dried tomatoes mixed in, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbsBerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Capitola, California, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I just put mine right in the water with a T of veg. oil to soften them and 1T lemon juice. I left about 2 inches of the stem on because it is good to eat. Mine were large so I had to simmer around 30 minutes. I also put the garlic slices in the water not inside the artichokes because I thought it may be too strong for my boys. Good with mayonniase on the side! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
These were okay, beforehand we were really used to artichokes with just butter. I thought it had too much salt and pepper and I would mince the garlic instead. Perhaps next time I'll simply try Garlic Salt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States