Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
very good, taste great, but too much work to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Poole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This recipe was pretty easy. We enjoyed trying it. It gave the artichokes a very nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique Ging

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I used this to make whole artichokes for the first time. They turned out really good using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Why everyone makes this so hard is really beyond me. All I do is trim off the end of the stem and peel with peeler, leaving the stem on. Cut in half long-ways. Rinse with water. Put in steaming basket and steam until tender. Use a spoon remove choke. Can't get much simpler than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristiT.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I too love artichokes but, I put them in the microwave. I use a cassorole dish with a cover, Put water half way up , wash and prepare your artichoke(s) stick slivers of garlic between the leaves and also in the water. Nuke about 5 mins per choke. Drizzle with olive oil and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This seems to be way too short a time for cooking the artichoke enough to get the most cooked flesh from it. I agree with a previous review to cook them about 45 minutes. However, I suggest that if you have a pressure cooker, to cook it in that for about 10 minutes. I have been cooking them in a pressure cooker for many years & they turn out very tender & delicious. Thanks for the tip about the garlic in between the leaves. That makes it even tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
20 minutes is not even close to long enough, I fill the pot with 1 inch of water and put a lemon slice on each Artichoke " do not add salt,it draws the juices out" Place the Artichokes, stems trimed closely stem side down in the pot,cover and bring the water to a boil,turn down heat to simmer for about one hour. you will have perfect Artichokes. dip in garlic mayo or just plain olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Love These - I've been trying to cut down on butter, so I'm eating them plain, right out of the steamer, with a dash of lemon. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Sokolinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Please use more water to steam, as some others said you will run dry and possibly burn your pot. And it did take at least 45 minutes to steam. I serve mine with a delicious dip made of equal parts of mayo and parmesan cheese. Then just pluck the leaves off, dip and scrape the flesh off with your teeth. Discard remaining leaf. Mmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SingnDance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I grew up on stuffed artichokes. We steamed them in just enough water to cover the base "heart" of the artichoke and they are usually tender after 20 mins. We stuff the leaves with a mixture of seasoned breadcrumbs, parmesan cheese and either chopped fresh garlic or garlic powder (can add a bit of olive oil or butter to the mix if you wish). After steaming, pull off the leaves and enjoy the stuffing with the tender base of the leaves. When all leaves have been eaten, cut off the base (heart), clean off the purple fine strings, and enjoy the tender artichoke heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States