Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
So simple and so good! Made as written. It did actually have to cook longer than the 20 minutes, I steamed them for 45 minutes and they turned out perfectly! I made a garlic butter to dip the leaves in and my husband really enjoyed it. Thanks for such an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Artichokes are not only delightful to taste, but they are a 'fun food' to eat. I used to beg my grandmother to make me artichokes. Kids have fun scraping the pulp form the leaves and piling the used leaves in a separate dish. Sometimes we used to have a community discard plate and the kids would all try to build great piles of discarded leaves. Great way to get them to eat good food! Try this addition: After cleaning and preping, turn them upside down and smack them top/cut edge down onto counter or cutting board. It opens the leaves. Then you pour a mix of beaten egg, Parmesan cheese into the tops about half way thru cooking. (We put lemon juice in the cook water)The mix sticks to the edible part and is an additional treat. We used to search out the chunks of egg/cheese first thing. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Never having cooked artichokes, I didn't know how to check for doneness. After cooking for 20 minutes, we sat down and they were not even close to done. That is when I read the reviews and saw it needs to cook more like 45 minutes. Luckily this was a casual dinner with my family and not a fancy sit down dinner, or it would have ruined dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
i didn't have garlic so i had to improvise with garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany
Home Town: Rawlins, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Maybe I did something wrong. I made sure not to run out of water when boiling. I snipped all the edges with scissors. I steamed them for about 45 min, as that's how long it seems most people have said it took them. I used butter and instead of slicing the garlic I minced it. The flavor was fine I suppose. My biggest complaint is the artichoke itself. Seems like a LOT of work for such little reward. My artichokes were small in size but nicely round. However, very little "meat" to the leaves. Our home picks out a new veggie to try each week hoping to find a new love. Unfortunately, this will not make it into our meal rotation. Thank you for offering the recipe though. Just a thought though if I should ever change my mind about trying them again... might have a good flavor adding parmesian & seasoned bread crumbs too instead of just butter and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Just how mom makes them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
My family loves this recipe...simple, healthy, and delicious. Even my 2 and 4 year-olds devour almost an entire artichoke! Mine usually do take 20-25 minutes to cook, and it's worth every minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I agree with others...recipe should include a dippin sauce. I melted butter added lemon pepper seasoning and a splash of lemon. Sure makes a fabulous dipping sauce. I also used 4 garlic and extra buter to stuff the artichokes with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Loved this recipe and super easy to follow. I followed what others said about adding more water, but other than that... it was easy!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celena Vincent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Very good. Need to add water as suggested and cook for 45 minutes. One more suggestion....add parmesan to the butter and garlic in the initial stage before steaming and also in the butter dip. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States