Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I agree with others...recipe should include a dippin sauce. I melted butter added lemon pepper seasoning and a splash of lemon. Sure makes a fabulous dipping sauce. I also used 4 garlic and extra buter to stuff the artichokes with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Loved this recipe and super easy to follow. I followed what others said about adding more water, but other than that... it was easy!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celena27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Very good. Need to add water as suggested and cook for 45 minutes. One more suggestion....add parmesan to the butter and garlic in the initial stage before steaming and also in the butter dip. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I am making this right now, and I already like the idea of the butter and garlic in the leaves. I am deducting one star because no where in the directions does it say when and where to add the salt and pepper so I omitted the pepper and added a little salt and splash of balsamic vinegar to the water. I am also taking off a star because the recipe gives no dipping sauce suggestions, and one tablespoon of butter in the leaves is definitely not enough. I just tested at 20 min and it is still really hard. I also used about an inch of water. I gave my artichoke 15 extra minutes and I think that will be good. so excited to eat it!! I will serve with mayo like always :) maybe butter also. I appreciate this recipe! *****UPDATE: after eating, I see that they need to be cooked for at least 45 minutes. I LOVED the garlic in the leaves and next time will quadruple the amount. I think all the butter melted out of the artichoke so I probably won't be doing that again. Loved it though! yay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Thanks to reviewer KJOH535880, I finally learned how to clean and steam an artichoke. Made it easy. Even my very picky 9 year old ate 1 1/2 large artichokes all for himself. Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jigger Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cascade, Montana, USA
Living In: Cashmere, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I love a good steamed artichoke! I have never cleaned the center out before steaming as one review suggested. But, once you get down to the thin, white leaves with very little meat, it is easy to pull those off. Then, scrape the seeds off and there you have the tasty heart! Dip that in your favorite sauce and enjoy! Your reward for making it though the whole choke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This is a good start. I put onion, garlic clove and lemon in the water. I don't have a steamer, I just put in a couple of inches of water and set the artichokes stem down in the water, cover and simmer 45 mins. Also, I think artichokes are prettier in their natural state so I don't trim them at all and they just look lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey Park, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Good place to start, but very bland. I added lemons to the water, which nearly had to be tripled in amount, and it took over an hour to steam 4 large artichokes. I made a sauteed garlic, lemon, butter mixture to dip the leaves in, which everyone also used for their baked potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I am an artichoke addict. The reviewers who suggest more time (45 min) in the steamer are right on. I use a serrated knife to cut the top inch or so off the artichoke then trim the remaining outer leaves primarily to remove the sharp thorns. Also the stem, after being cut off, can be peeled with a vegetable peeler and steamed along with the rest. Eating a whole steamed artichoke is like opening a Christmas present especially when you get to the real present, the heart. For me, melted butter with lemon is the dip but experiment with whatever suits your fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States