Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This is a great way of preparing artichokes. I totally agree with gem1304 with the idea of adding lemon. The two bitters (the lemon and artichokes) cancel each other out and makes the artichoke really good !! Another way to enjoy them is to cook them as directed and then blanch them in ice water and place them in the fridge for a couple of hours to get them nice and cold. Serve like a salad with your favorite vinaigrette. I make a very simple vinaigrette by combining balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper and garlic in a blender. Turn the blender on and drizzle olive oil in a steady stream to emulsify to your liking. Dip the leaves in that and the are devine !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanby
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Pretty good, but a whole lot of work for the tidbits. Whew! Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I absolutely love artichokes and these are so easy to make for a quick healthy lunch. I simply boil them instead of steaming, then squeeze some freash lemon juice on them right before eating them and I eat them siracha (but I eat siracha on everything).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I have been making steamed artichokes for years! Lemon juice, garlic powder, olive oil and a little oregano sprinkled onto the artichokes before putting them into a streamer basket filled with water up to the bottom of the basket. YOU MUST WATCH THE POT SO IT DOES NOT GO DRY! Once it comes to a rapid boil you can turn down the heat. If water is getting low, add more water. After about 30-45 mins pull off a leaf from the outside and see if the meaty flesh will pull off with your teeth easily, if not keep timing until it does. Artichokes are awesome dipped into melted butter w/lemon added or hollandaise sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saf4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Loved the idea of rubbing with lemon. Great tips in the reviews, I added the vinegar and served with lemon butter and a balsamic vinaigrette. Steamed with extra water as suggested in the reviews for about 25 minutes, which left the artichoke meat really crisp-tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Kolloen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
What's better than fresh, steamed artichokes? Not much! This recipe works very well but I agree that it usually takes closer to thirty or forty minutes, certainly for the very large artichoke you see in the stores all Spring. I cut the stem so the choke stands upright BUT if the stem is long -- and I try to get those with long stems -- trim the bottom of the piece you cut off and toss it into the pot with the rest. It will cook along with the rest and can be served with the choke. The stem has the same tender and delicious taste as the prized heart and is usually everyone's favorite part. When the chokes about to be served, I toss a few tablespoons of butter (depends on how many chokes you're serving but be generous) into a glass bowl, add some garlic powder and zap until melted. I squeeze fresh lemon, mix it all until blended and the table. We eat the choke first but then use a fork to dip the stem into the butter as a special final taste of heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is delicious! I had huge artichokes so it took about 30 minutes but they were done to perfection. I did add cajun seasoning to the water and sprinkled some on top for some spice. Use whipped butter for dipping with some garlic powder. Whipped butter makes a much frothier butter. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Easy recipe. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ledesma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Garlic lover? Great recipe! Here are some add'l things I added to the recipe... add a splash of lemon juice to the water to keep from turning brown. Also for those garlic lovers out there use a bulb instead of just a few cloves. Insert 1/4 of a clove per leaf. Last but not least...leave the stem on! Crazy right?!...actually The stalk is just as tender as the artichoke heart (center on the top part of the stem). Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
So simple and so good! Made as written. It did actually have to cook longer than the 20 minutes, I steamed them for 45 minutes and they turned out perfectly! I made a garlic butter to dip the leaves in and my husband really enjoyed it. Thanks for such an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States