Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Luckily I read all the other reviews before I tried this. I filled a large saucepan about halfway full and when I took the artichokes out, there was just enough water left to cover the bottom.I don't know what Shai was thinking by saying we needed only enough water to cover the bottom of the pan! But putting the garlic and the butter actually IN the artichokes while they steamed was a great idea! they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Great recipe! The artichokes I bought were a bit big, so they did cook for 45 min. and maybe could've used 5 more min. But they were very tasty! Next time I will add garlic to the butter dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Keep an eye on the water in your pot- something that helps is to add a splash of vinegar into the water. It may sound odd, but it gives it a nice, very subtle taste. Melting butter and garlic to dip in is wonderful. Depending on their size, they make take longer to cook- you can check if they´re done by trying to tear off a leaf. If it peels away easily, they're done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Oh the weather outside is certainly frightful! It looks like a blizzard out there. While I'm anxiously awaiting for my little chickens to arrive home early from school today, I decided to catch up on my reviews. These artichokes rock! My kids BEG me to buy them and believe it or not, they'll make a meal out of them. The only additional thing I do, is melt butter and add garlic powder so the kids can dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
We love these! I bought two very large, very large as in bigger than shot-put ball sized artichokes (what a find), hence the cooking time was a bit longer. Because they were so big & didn't fit into my regular steamer, I ended up simmerimg them in 1/2 pot of water with butter, garlic & dry minced onion added. They turned out great, thanks Shai!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
This recipe is fine, except that the cooking time is about 45 minutes.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
I've made this several times now and really enjoy the recipe. Did have to add more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I made this turn out good eventually. If you follow the instructions to the letter, by only putting enough water in the pot to cover the bottom of the pan and then try to steam for 20 minutes, you will end up with a house full of smoke. All of the water evaporated within 10 minutes and the butter that was stuffed in the artichokes melted to the bottom and burned on the bottom of the pan. Lucky for me I gave this recipe a try on Christmas eve and didn't embarass myself in front of my guests on Christmas Day! The recipe should suggest putting much more water in the pot that that. I think I ended up putting close to 6 cups just to be sure. Also my artichokes took much longer than 20 minutes to steam. They took about 45 minutes. All in all they ended up turning out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
Great and simple. Try adding lemon juice and zest (or slices).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
My nephew loves them. But you have to have mayo as a dip as well as meltedbutter, it compliments the flavor 10 fold! Just a tiny dip in the mayo, then in the butter! YUMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States