Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
My dad and I love this and my mom who hate artichokes. Tried it and even said it was OK. From now on this is the way I'm going to cook artichokes .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Give this recipe a little more flavor by adding lemon juice and parsley to the dipping butter! It's to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
A bit laborious putting the slivers of butter and garlic into the artichokes, but WELL worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I am an artichoke addict. Unfortunately, I live in SD and can only get these during the summer, if I'm lucky. I thought tucking butter and garlic into the leaves was a nice touch. Usually I just steam the artichoke in a few inches of water, as opposed to actually using a steamer and serve it with a lemon-butter mixture (proportions are to taste). I find it cuts cooking time nearly in half. Of course you can't do the butter idea with this method, and if you have too much water you may risk washing out the flavor. Of course this needed more water. But I usually leave only enough water in the pan to cover the bottom, like the recipe calls for,and add more water as it evaporates so not to burn the pan. Like I said, too much water may wash out flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Pretty good. Like most other reviewers I needed considerably more water and fresh lemon juice (throw in the peel too) is quite good. BUT DON'T CUT OFF THE STEM, IT'S JUST THE END OF THE HEART!!! Just trim of the end (like you would cut flowers before placing in a vase). It also gives you a way to test for doneness. Pierce the stem with a knife,if it goes through easily, it's done. ALSO: try fresh lemon juice with salt, fresh ground pepper, fresh garlic and slowly beat in Extra Virgin Olive Oil for dipping. Ligh and velvety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Luckily I read all the other reviews before I tried this. I filled a large saucepan about halfway full and when I took the artichokes out, there was just enough water left to cover the bottom.I don't know what Shai was thinking by saying we needed only enough water to cover the bottom of the pan! But putting the garlic and the butter actually IN the artichokes while they steamed was a great idea! they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Great recipe! The artichokes I bought were a bit big, so they did cook for 45 min. and maybe could've used 5 more min. But they were very tasty! Next time I will add garlic to the butter dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Keep an eye on the water in your pot- something that helps is to add a splash of vinegar into the water. It may sound odd, but it gives it a nice, very subtle taste. Melting butter and garlic to dip in is wonderful. Depending on their size, they make take longer to cook- you can check if they´re done by trying to tear off a leaf. If it peels away easily, they're done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Oh the weather outside is certainly frightful! It looks like a blizzard out there. While I'm anxiously awaiting for my little chickens to arrive home early from school today, I decided to catch up on my reviews. These artichokes rock! My kids BEG me to buy them and believe it or not, they'll make a meal out of them. The only additional thing I do, is melt butter and add garlic powder so the kids can dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
We love these! I bought two very large, very large as in bigger than shot-put ball sized artichokes (what a find), hence the cooking time was a bit longer. Because they were so big & didn't fit into my regular steamer, I ended up simmerimg them in 1/2 pot of water with butter, garlic & dry minced onion added. They turned out great, thanks Shai!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States